Three California propositions allow you, in limited circumstances, to transfer your property tax base between properties. It is the tax base in California that is the most important factor in determining actual taxes--worth its weight in gold if you remain in a property long enough.
A tax-payer revolt in California in the late 1970s ended with the passage of Proposition 13--legislation that more or less freezes property taxes for owners based on the sales price of their homes. Under Prop 13, all properties are taxed at 100 percent of their assessed value at the time of purchase. After that, the assessed value can only be raised by the lesser of the rate of inflation or two percent. The longer you own the property, the more you benefit because while property appreciates in value, your taxes stay relatively stable.
One effect of Proposition 13 was that elder home owners on fixed incomes felt trapped in their homes after 10 or 20 years of occupancy. They might have enough equity in their homes to sell and buy smaller retirement homes or move to be closer to children, but the prospect of having to pay property taxes four and five times as much as the taxes they paid on the home they had lived in for so any years prevented them from moving. Proposition 60, passed in 1986, allows homeowners at least 55 year old to transfer their existing property tax base to a new home within the same county purchased for a price equal to or less than the sales price of the home they are vacating. The law only allows you to move your tax basis once.
Proposition 90, passed in 1988, allows counties the option of allowing seniors who move from other counties to bring their tax base with them so long as they meet the Proposition requirements of being at least 55 years old and buying a home that is equal to or less than the price of the home they have sold. As of 2011, eight counties have signed on to this arrangement: Alameda, El Dorado, Los Angeles, Orange, Santa Clara, San Diego, San Mateo and Ventura.
Proposition 110 extends the rights of Proposition 60 and 90 to the severely and permanently disabled. It also allows a property owner who becomes disabled after having used the tax-base transfer once the right to use it a second time.
- Photo Credit cottage image by DOLPHIN from Fotolia.com
How to Transfer Property as a Gift in California
Gifting property to someone other than your spouse in the state of California can have significant tax implications. While California does not...
How Much Over the Property Tax Value Can I Set My Asking Price to Sell My Home?
Selling your home is a big financial decision. The hope is that you'll make a profit so that you can roll your...
Who Pays the Real Estate Transfer Tax?
There are a lot of terms you need to know when you're buying or selling a home, and most of them involve...
Can I Transfer My Tax-Free Savings Account From One Bank to Another?
A Tax-Free Savings Account is available through Canadian banks to residents 18 years of age or older who have a valid Social...
How to Find a Paying Job for 55 Year Old Woman
The challenge of finding a paying job for women over 50 may seem daunting. In an employer's market the competition for jobs...
How to Avoid Capital Gains in California With a Transfer Deed
The capital gains tax can be a challenging burden on families that are trying to sell property after the death of a...
Documents Needed to Create a Trust
Documents Needed to Create a Trust. A legal trust is a relationship in which one person owns property for the benefit of...
Can I Get an Extension on My Property Taxes?
Property taxes are due either annually, semiannually or in smaller installments three or four times a year. In some states, the due...
California Property Tax Relief Information
Properties in many areas of California are among the highest priced in the United States, so it would be of little surprise...