Tumblr is a social media website on which people share quotes, blog posts, images and other creative content. When you follow a user on Tumblr, her posts will automatically show up on your Dashboard whenever you log in. While it is not possible to block specific posts without unfollowing the user in question, Tumblr does offer a few tools to help you manage your personal blog space and make things a bit easier to control.
Creating a Separate Blog
One simple method for picking and choosing who appears on your Dashboard is creating a new Tumblr blog. Because Tumblr is free, it is relatively simple to create separate blogs for each of your interests. You can then log in to each blog as needed—this is very handy if you want to keep a Tumblr for personal reasons and another for work. You can then choose specific users to follow on each of your separate blogs, creating a makeshift filter that allows you to switch easily through different types of content.
Ignoring Specific Users
If you are fed up with a specific user of Tumblr and would like to block her for good, you can visit “tumblr.com/ignore.” Entering her username and clicking “Ignore” will prevent that user from contacting you or seeing your content on her Dashboard, and will stop her content from showing up where you can see it. No notification is sent if you ignore a user, so you do not have to worry about hurting anyone’s feelings. Unfortunately, it is not possible to ignore a user and continue following her at the same time.
Ignoring Anonymous Messages
If you’re receiving weird messages from anonymous users, you can completely block the offending IP address. Simply click “ignore” on any message you receive, and the account and IP address will be automatically prevented from contacting you again. If desired, you can also turn off the “Ask” and “Submit” options for your blog via that blog’s settings. Click the gear icon on your Dashboard, select the blog and you will see each option outlined.
Tumblr offers a variety of options for protecting your account. When creating a new blog, for example, you can lock it with a password that prevents random readers from accessing it. Private blogs can be created only as an addition to an existing public blog. You can also set any post on any of your blogs to “private” via the “publish now” menu, which will stop users from seeing it. Using Tumblr’s different security features and understanding the website’s “block” feature will keep your experience safe and fun.
- Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Polka Dot/Getty Images