Magic: The Gathering: 1 Plus 1 & 1 Minus 1 Counters

Save
Next Video:
Magic: The Gathering: Loralin....5

In "Magic: The Gathering" one-plus-one and one-minus-one counters cancel each other out. Understand counters in "Magic: The Gathering" with tips from a certified judge in this free video on magic cards.

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Video Transcript

The thirteenth state based effect says that plus one-plus one counters and minus one-minus one counters on a permanent cancel each other out. That means to say that if there are a number of both plus one-plus one counters and minus one-minus one counters are on the permanent, usually creatures, then the lower number of the two is removed and an equivalent number of the larger number is also removed. That is to say if a creature has five plus one-plus one counters, and two minus one-minus one counters, it remains with three plus one-plus one counters after state based effects are checked. These counters are essentially opposite and negate each other. It's important not to confuse plus one-plus one counters and minus one-minus one counters with any other type of counters that the game might generate such as charge counters on artifacts or destiny counters on certain legendary creatures. These counters don't count towards the state based effect and don't cancel with plus one-plus one and minus one-minus one counters.

Featured

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!