Will Restoring & Updating an iPad Lose Pictures?

Save
Next Video:
How to Type in Capitals on an iPad....5

Restoring an updating an iPad will definitely lose all of your pictures for an important reason. Find out why restoring and updating an iPad will lose pictures with help from an expert in the world of Apple products in this free video clip.

Part of the Video Series: iPad Questions & Answers
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Video Transcript

Hi, I'm Patrick Coll. And I'm here today to talk about will restoring and updating my iPad lose pictures? Now, you may need to restore your iPad, you may need to update your iPad, you may need to do both. And the short answer to will you lose your pictures, if you restore, the answer is yes. Because restoring your iPad puts it back to its factory setting and you'll lose all your content. So, you really want to make sure that your photos are backed up first. One way that you can check if you're backing up your photos, is to go to your Settings. If we go to our Settings and then, we come down to iCloud, make sure you're logged in. You go to Photos and see My Photo Stream. If your Photo stream is on, then you've backed up your last thousand pictures. If you go to Storage and Backup, you'll see iCloud Backup. If this is on, then you're iPad is backed to the iCloud. Another way that you can back up your iPad is through your computer. Through iTunes we'll create a whole backup. Something else you might want to consider is using an application to take the photos and import them to your computer, either to an application or to a local folder. If you're just updating your iPad, you don't need worry. That will just update the operating system on your iPad and you'll still have all your content there, safe and sound. I'm Patrick Coll, I hope this has been helpful. Thank you for watching.

Featured

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!