Halal Foods List

Save
Pork is not considered halal.
Pork is not considered halal. (Image: pork meat image by Maria Brzostowska from Fotolia.com)

Halal is an Arabic word meaning permitted or lawful, the opposite of which is haram, or forbidden. When applied to food, halal means those foods that are considered permissible to eat under Islamic law. To compile a list of halal foods, you must list what is haram. Halal foods, therefore, are everything else. All foods listed as follows are not permitted under Islamic law.

Pork

Pork is forbidden to consume, according to the Qur'an, the sacred book of Islam. Any pork byproducts are also forbidden.

Blood

Blood is not permitted, including all animal blood and foods made from blood byproducts.

Other Types of Animals

Other animals that are forbidden to be eaten include carnivorous animals (lion, fox, dog, cat, etc.), land animals without external ears (snake, lizard, etc.), birds of prey (falcon, eagle, hawk, etc.) and carrion, the carcasses of dead animals.

Animals Killed Improperly

It is unlawful to eat animals that were slaughtered not in the name of Allah. The name of Allah must be pronounced over the animal prior to the slaughter. The method of slaughter is important as well; animals must be killed under a set method of ritual slaughter.

Alcohol

Alcohol and all other intoxicants are prohibited.

Contaminated Foods

Foods that have been contaminated by any of the foods or drinks listed previously are forbidden to be eaten.

Related Searches

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

13 Delicious Thanksgiving Sides That'll Make Turkey Insignificant

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!