I Want to Close My Facebook Account

Facebook is a useful tool for keeping in touch with friends and colleagues, but sometimes it becomes overwhelming, or you encounter circumstances where it's no longer wise to allow personal information about you to remain online. If you need to close your Facebook account, you can do so temporarily, or you can request it be permanently deleted.

  1. Temporary Deactivation

    • You can deactivate your account temporarily by going to the Account Settings page, which can be found under the "Account" tab in the upper-right portion of the screen when you are logged in. At the bottom of the Account Settings page is the option to deactivate your account. If you do this, all your information will be inaccessible until you reactivate. It will be as though your account has been deleted. To reactivate, simply log in at any time.

    Permanent Deletion

    • Getting rid of your account permanently requires submitting the form found at Facebook's Account Deletion Request Page. Follow the instructions there and then wait for confirmation. Facebook's standard is to wait two weeks before actually deleting your account. If you log in at all during this time, the deletion process is canceled.

    Other Possible Routes to Deletion

    • Facebook provides email addresses where you can contact a real person. If you want your account deleted sooner, write to privacy@facebook.com and make a request. It may take several days to get a response.

    Considerations

    • Turning off or removing your Facebook account completely is a multistep process that requires care. While in the process, you must be careful not to log in to Facebook, which includes sites that use Facebook Connect. Facebook Connect is the service that allows third-party sites to access your Facebook account for information or as a universal login. If you log in through one of these sites, your deactivation or deletion process will be canceled.

Related Searches

References

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Ads

Featured