What Are the Requirements to Get Married in Lucas County, Ohio?


There are few requirements to get married in Lucas County, Ohio. Located in northwest Ohio, the largest city in the county is Toledo, where you will need to go to fulfill the most important requirement -- obtaining your marriage license. You must be over the age of 18, the legal age for obtaining a marriage license without the consent of your parents. There are other requirements you should be aware of when getting your license.

Obtaining a Marriage License

  • In order to obtain a marriage license in Lucas County, visit the Lucas County Probate Marriage License Office in Toledo. As of 2011, it is on the first floor of the Lucas County Court House at 700 Adams St., Toledo, OH 43064. No appointments are taken, so be prepared to wait if is very busy, especially on a Friday. The office's hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. The average wait is about 15 to 20 minutes.

What You'll Need

  • Both the bride and groom must show up and must bring valid, government-issued picture identification. If you are under 21, you must also have a certified birth certificate listing parents' names. If you have been married previously, you must have a copy of the divorce decree, dissolution or annulment that has been signed by a judge and filed with a court. Widows and widowers must bring a certified death certificate. You will also need to bring $50 cash for the cost of the marriage license. The court does not accept checks or credit cards.

What You Don't Need

  • A blood test and witnesses are not required for the bride and groom to get a marriage license. You also don't have to wait to get married once you get your license, and may even be married the same day by a judge. Toledo Municipal Court judges perform marriages Monday through Friday from 1:30 to 3 p.m.

Non-Lucas County Residents

  • Just because you aren't a resident of Lucas County doesn't mean you can't get married there. You will need to get your marriage license from the county in Ohio where you reside before getting married in Lucas County. If you are from outside the state, you can get a license in Lucas County, but you must also be married there.

Minister Requirements

  • The person who officiates at your wedding must be licensed by the Ohio secretary of state. An ordained or licensed minister with a religious congregation, county and municipal court judges, a municipal mayor, and the superintendent of the state school for the deaf can perform marriages under Ohio law.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet



Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of a Wedding Industry Insider

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!