In New York State, a Class C license is required if you drive a vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 26,000 lbs. and either is designed to transport 15 or more people or transport hazardous materials. Due to the risk involved in transporting large groups of people or hazardous materials, the requirements for obtaining a Class C license in New York are more stringent than the requirement for a Class A or Class B license.
To obtain a Class C license in New York, you must be at least 18 years old and a resident of New York State. You must be 21 years old to drive a bus. If you recently moved from another state and have a Class C license from that state, you can simply exchange that license for a New York State license. Additionally, you must have the ability to converse with others in English and understand traffic signs written in English.
Federal transportation laws require that drivers of commercial vehicles undergo a medical examination to assess their ability to safely drive a large vehicle. If you have a Class C license, you are required to undergo additional examinations every two years, unless you are a bus driver, in which case you are required to have an annual physical examination.
To take the written examination, you have to go in person to a New York Department of Motor Vehicles office and submit an application and medical examination report. After verifying you meet the minimum requirements for a Class C license, the DMV will give you a written examination. You must score at least 80 percent to pass the examination. The DMV will issue you a learner's permit after you pass the examination.
Once you have a learner's permit, you can practice driving a Class C commercial vehicle as long as you have someone with a Class C license accompanying you. After practicing with a Class C vehicle, you can register for the driving skills test by calling the DMV at 518-402-2100 or registering online from the DMV website. You must bring a Class C motor vehicle with you to the examination. To pass, you have to demonstrate your ability to property inspect the vehicle and operate it safely.
If you are obtaining a Class C license to drive a bus, there are additional requirements for you to obtain and maintain a license. Your employer must complete an employment background check that goes back at least three years and obtain the driving records for the prior three years. In addition, you must pass an employer-given driving and written examination every two years.
- Photo Credit Brand X Pictures/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images
What Is a CDL Class B?
In the United States, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) requires individuals who operate commercial motor vehicles (CMV) to possess a Commercial Drivers...
Class C CDL School Bus Endorsement Requirements
Prior to obtaining a position driving a school bus, federal and state laws require that the driver obtain a specific type driver's...
What are the Different Classes of a CDL?
A CDL, or Commercial Driver's License, is required in the United States to legally drive certain types of large commercial vehicles, particularly...
How to Get a Class B Commercial Driver's License
Obtaining a class B commercial driver's license isn't much different than getting an ordinary license in that there is a written test...
How to Obtain a CDL Class B Drivers License
A class B license allows you to operate vehicles above average weight and equipped with air brakes. With a class B license,...
CDL Class A License Requirements
The Class A commercial driver's license (CDL) allows the bearer to operate a vehicle or combination of vehicles whose weight exceeds 26,001...
DMV Class B License Requirements
Obtaining a class B commercial driver's license takes a lot of studying and training. The holder of a CDL B can operate...