CWB Welding Supervisor Certification


The Canadian Welding Bureau Group began in 1947 as an agency to certify welding products. The group also serves as a professional organization for welders, boasting around 4,500 members as of March 2011. The CWB also offers a certification program for professionals in the field of welding, including a credential for supervisors.


  • To qualify for CWB welding supervisor certification, candidates must complete a training course. The CWB has no educational or experience prerequisites for entry into the class. Courses typically last for five days and are offered at least six times per year. Locations for the classes include Edmonton, Alberta, and Milton, Ontario. During the class, participants receive training in welding standards and codes, welding symbols, weld faults, welding inspection techniques and quality control.


  • At the conclusion of the CWB welding supervisor training course, students must pass a written examination. The test is multiple-choice and covers all of the materials presented over the five days of workshops. The examination is open-book with participants permitted to use specific sections of the CWB's welding standards manual while answering questions. Those who successfully complete the test receive certification as a supervisor along with a paper certificate verifying the credential. The CWB allows those who do not pass to retake the test at a later time by paying a fee.


  • In order for a company to receive approval from the CWB, it must employ a minimum number of CWB-certified supervisors based upon the size of the company. Because of this requirement, many welding supervisors and Canada are required to pursue certification as a part of their job duties. To register for the training course, candidates must complete a form available from the CWB website and then return it via email, fax or standard mail. Prospective certificants must also pay a fee.

Other Certifications

  • Often, welding supervisors perform inspections as part of their job duties. Such individuals can pursue inspector certification from the CWB. Two levels of certification are available, each of which requires candidates to complete a 10-day training course that culminate in examinations. The CWB also offers four types of welding engineer certifications for professionals who are responsible for different welding specialties. Each type of certification involves one or two trainings and passing a written exam for each mandatory course.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Aerospace Welding Certification

    Aerospace welding certification holders are prepared to weld in the unique conditions faced by the aerospace industry. Certifications are provided by the...

  • How to Become a Welding Inspector

    Welding inspectors ensure welding jobs meet national and local welding codes and safety standards. They inspect finished welded products to verify that...

  • How to Pass a Welding Certification Test

    Though the industry itself is growing at only a moderate rate, the first two decades of the 21st century will provide a...

Related Searches

Check It Out

Are You Really Getting A Deal From Discount Stores?

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!