How to Report on Tumblr

Save

Reporting content or users on Tumblr can be done using one of two methods, each with its own purpose. One method lets you ignore and report an entire blog and all its content while the other lets you provide your own specific details and attachments, but does not block any communication. If your company blog is being spammed or disrupted by spam accounts, or if you are being harassed by a user, you can block and report them through your Account settings or by contacting Tumblr via email.

What Can Be Reported

  • Tumblr has two different categories of content you can report: any content that violates its community guidelines, and spam. You can use one of two different methods of reporting -- emailing Tumblr staff or reporting a user via your settings panel -- though the email method is usually used for reporting spam. A link to Tumblr's community guidelines can be found in the Resources section.

Enable Reporting Functions

  • In order to be able to report a blog, you need to block the blog first. Open your Tumblr dashboard, then click the gear icon to access your settings. At the bottom of your Account settings, click "Ignored users." Type in the URL or username of the blog you want to block, and then click "Ignore." The user's name appears below, along with options to report him for spam or harassment and the option to stop ignoring him.

Report Blog

  • To report an entire blog from your settings page, click either "spam" or "harassment" next to the "Report for" options on the ignored users page. You need only click the appropriate link to submit the report. If you want to file a more detailed report -- for example, if you want to draw attention to a specific post or comment or want to provide additional details -- use Tumblr's contact form. A link to the page with this form can be found in the Resources section. Type in a subject, select your blog, and then enter any details into the text box. You also have the option to attach a file if necessary, such as a screenshot. When you are finished, click "Send."

Considerations

  • Blocking a blog will prevent that blogger from seeing any of your posts, and you from seeing any of her posts, until the block is undone. You can unblock users after you have reported them if you wish and the report will not be retracted. Whenever you file a report, you will usually not be notified about the results of Tumblr staff's decision unless they feel the need to contact you for additional details. Your account will suffer no strikes or penalties for reports where Tumblr staff disagree, unless you attempt to spam or abuse the report system.

References

  • Photo Credit Mario Tama/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!