How to Reset Preferences in Adobe Bridge

Save

Adobe's media manager, Bridge, allows you to reset all of its preferences with a keystroke combination. If this doesn't work, you can manually delete the stored settings from your computer, forcing Bridge to start over with its defaults. These files are usually in the same place no matter what version of Bridge you have, although some directory names may have specific numbers, depending on your version.

  • Start Adobe Bridge. As soon as it starts, hold down "Ctrl+Alt+Shift" on Windows or "Command+Option+Shift" on the Mac OS. When the "Reset Settings" dialog box appears, follow the on-screen instructions. If it doesn't appear or if it doesn't work, continue to Step 2.

  • Delete the thumbnail cache. On Windows computers, the directory to delete is C:\Documents and Settings[user name]\Application Data\Adobe\Bridge[#]\Cache. On Mac OS computers, it's /Users/[user name]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Bridge[#]/Cache for Bridge CS2 or /Users/[user name]/Library/Caches/Adobe/Bridge[#]. In all these addresses, "[#]" represents your version number, like "CS3," although it may also not appear at all.

  • Delete the workspace file. This is called "!!Last.workspace" and appears, in Windows, in the C:\Documents and Settings[user name]\Application Data\Adobe\Bridge[#]\Workspaces folder. In Mac OS, it's in the /Users/[user name]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Bridge[#]/Workspaces folder.

  • Delete the stored preferences. In Mac OS, these are in a file called com.adobe.bridge[#].plist, located in /Users/[user name]/Library/Preferences. In Windows, the settings are stored in the Windows Registry. Click "Start," type "regedit" and press "Enter." Navigate to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Bridge[#]\Preferences" in the left pane, right-click it, and click "Delete." Close the Registry Editor when you're done -- this is the last thing you have to delete.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you can't find your Application Data folder in Windows, click "Start," "Control Panel," "Appearance and Personalization," "Folder Options," "View" and then "Advanced Settings." Check "Show hidden files, folders, and drives" and click "OK."

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!