How to Unshare My Files

Save

The file sharing feature on your Windows PC allows local network users access to files and folders stored on your system. This feature also includes the option to share only specific files, while restricting access to others. In Windows 7, files now have an updated, pop-up menu that simplifies adjusting your sharing settings. It now allows you to quickly specify who can retrieve your files, or to lock a file from everyone. Once locked, a file displays an error message when an alternate user attempts to open it.

Disable through Windows Explorer

  • Click the "Windows Explorer" icon in the lower-left corner of your desktop to access your files, and locate the file you wish to configure.

  • Right-click the file, and move your cursor to the "Share With" option on the pop-up menu.

  • Click "Nobody" in the sub-menu to lock the file from all users.

Disable Public Folder Sharing

  • Click the Windows orb at the bottom of the desktop, and click "Control Panel."

  • Click "Network and Sharing Center" and click "Change Advanced Sharing Settings," located on the left side of the window.

  • Click the down arrow, also known as a chevron, and click "Turn Off Public Folder Sharing."

  • Click "Save Changes," and enter your account's administrator password. Click "Yes" to confirm the changes to the settings.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!