How to Not Allow Tags on Facebook

Save

Photo tagging on Facebook is an easy way to share photos with your friends. Each photo tagged with a friend's name is displayed on that user's Facebook profile page. If you're fed up with being tagged in unflattering or embarrassing photos then you might want to stop friends and contacts from tagging you in Facebook photos. Although there's no dedicated option to stop photo tagging on Facebook, there is a work around. You can prevent tagging by customizing your privacy settings.

  • Launch your Web browser and log in to Facebook.

  • Click the "Account" link from the top menu of your Facebook profile page or home page.

  • Select "Privacy Settings" from the drop-down menu.

  • Click the "Customize Settings" link in the "Sharing on Facebook" section.

  • Scroll down to the "Things Others Share" section. Click the "Edit Settings" button beside "Photos and Videos You're Tagged In."

  • Click the button beside "Who Can See Photos and Videos I'm Tagged In." Select "Only Me" from the drop-down menu. Selecting this option means that all Facebook users can no longer see your tag in photos. This also removes photos in which you're tagged from the display on your home page and profile page.

  • Click the "OK" button to save your preferences.

Tips & Warnings

  • Changing the privacy settings for photo tagging means that only you see the photos in which you're tagged on your home page and profile page. The tag with your name will also disappear from the photo when viewed in the uploader's photo album.

References

  • Photo Credit Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!