How to Delete an Administrator Account on an Apple

Save

The Accounts control under System Preferences in Mac OS X lets you add, edit or delete user accounts, as long as your account is an administrator account. In Mac OS X, all accounts have their own "Home" folder. Deleting the account does not have to mean losing all the data in the administrator account: you can leave it or save it as a disk image for archiving. You cannot delete the sole account on a system; to remove that account, you must create a new administrator account and sign in to it.

  • Select the "Apple menu," "System Preferences" from the main Finder menu.

  • Click the "Accounts" icon to open the Accounts window.

  • Click the lock icon in the bottom left corner of the window to make changes to user accounts.

  • Enter your password in the confirmation window that opens.

  • Select the account to delete.

  • Click the "-" button below the Accounts list to open an options menu.

  • Mark "Save the home folder in a disk image" to save the admin profile as a disk image that you can store or save later. This deletes the account from the Home folders. Mark "Don't change the home folder" to leave the account in the Home folder without changing it. Mark "Delete the home folder" to remove the account from the home folder list.

  • Click the "OK" button to delete the administrator account.

  • Click the lock icon to secure user accounts again.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you choose to delete the account's Home folder, make sure you remove any important data from it before you delete the account. You may not be able to recover it later.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!