How to Delete Posts on Facebook on Your iPhone

Save

No matter how you posted a status update or photo to Facebook -- on your phone, on the Web or through another app -- the steps to delete that post in the iPhone Facebook app are the same. Just find the post, open the menu and tap Delete. If a post has multiple images and you want to delete only one, remove the image directly instead of erasing the post.

The option to delete a post appears only on your own posts.
(Image courtesy of Facebook)
Step 1

Open the More tab in the Facebook app and tap your name to reach your Timeline.

You can also delete your posts directly from the News Feed tab, but opening your Timeline makes your posts easier to find.

If you're on the wrong account, scroll down on the More tab and log out.
Image courtesy of Facebook
Step 2

Tap the triangle menu icon in the corner of the post you want to remove and choose Delete.

Alternatively, choose Hide from Timeline to remove the post from your Timeline without erasing it from your friends' news feeds. This option appears only if you visit the post on your Timeline.

The menu also has an option to change the privacy setting.
Image courtesy of Facebook
Step 3

Press Delete to confirm.

Deleting a post removes it from Facebook entirely.
Image courtesy of Facebook
Step 4

Double-tap a photo in your timeline and then open the ... menu if you want to delete an individual photo out of a post without erasing all images in the post.

You can delete only photos you uploaded.
Image courtesy of Facebook
Step 5

Tap Delete Photo to confirm.

The Delete Photo dialog has several other options, as well.
Image courtesy of Facebook

Tips & Warnings

  • To remove your name from another users' photo tags, tap and hold on the image, pick "Report Photo" and then "I Want to Untag Myself." To delete your name from a post's tags, open the post's menu and choose "Remove Tag." If you want the actual post or photo deleted, you'll need to ask the person who posted it.
  • Deleted photos can't be recovered on Facebook, but if you uploaded a photo from your iPhone, you can still open it in the Photos app. Similarly, deleting a photo in the Photos app won't remove it from Facebook.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!