How to Remove the Top Close Button on a Remote Desktop

Save

The Remote Desktop feature, which is included with all versions of the Windows operating system, allows computer users to control other PCs over the Internet. When you launch a Remote Desktop session, a toolbar will appear along the top of your screen with several options, including one button that lets you close and end the session. If you do not want this toolbar to appear all the time, you can set it to autohide the close button.

  • Open the "Start" menu on your PC and expand the "All Programs" list.

  • Go into the "Accessories" subfolder and click on "Remote Desktop Connection."

  • Enter the IP address or hostname of the other PC computer you want to access and then click the "Connect" button to initiate the session.

  • Log in to the remote computer using a valid username and password.

  • Move your mouse cursor to the top of your screen.

  • Find the button on the far left of the toolbar with an icon of a pin. When you place your mouse over it, you will see a dialog box that says "Always show the connection bar." Click on this button to disable the autoshow feature. The toolbar, including the close button, will disappear once you move your mouse cursor back to the main section of the window.

  • End the Remote Desktop session by moving your mouse cursor back to the top of the screen and leaving it there for a few seconds. The toolbar and close button will now reappear.

References

  • Photo Credit Ron Levine/Lifesize/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!