How to Use Laplink

Save

LapLink software allows you to move all or some of your drives, programs, files and applications from one computer to another with ease. This becomes important when you purchase a new computer but need lots of information that's stored on your old computer. Running back and forth from the old computer to the new computer---or using a flash drive to transfer information---gets tedious fast.

Things You'll Need

  • LapLink software
  • Bi-directional USB cable
  • Purchase the LapLink software from the LapLink.com website. In order for the software to work, you will need a bi-directional USB cable, which can be purchased from a local or online computer retailer. (See the LapLink USB cable comparison chart in the "Resources" section at the end of this article.)

  • Check your email inbox for a confirmation message from LapLink. The message will contain the product key you'll need to download and install the software.

  • Download and install the LapLink software onto your old computer. Reboot your computer after the installation is complete.

  • Download and install the LapLink software onto your new computer. Reboot your computer after the installation is complete.

  • Connect one end of your bi-directional USB cable to the USB port of your old computer. Connect the other end of the bi-directional cable to the USB port of your new computer.

  • Open the LapLink program on your old computer. Select the option to "Migrate" drives, applications, files and programs to your new computer. You can pick and choose the specific drives and other programs you wish to move if you do not wish to move all of them. Be sure not to transfer an older version of a program or application to the new computer. For example, if your new computer is running Internet Explorer 8, do not migrate Internet Explorer 7 from the old computer.

  • Check your new computer to ensure that your new files, applications, programs and drives were successfully migrated.

  • Open the LapLink software program on your new computer if you want to reverse a migration. After opening up the software on the new computer, select the option to "Undo Previous Migration." This will remove all of the drives, files, programs and applications that were last moved to the new computer.

  • Disconnect the USB cable from both of the computers once all of your information has been transferred.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!