How to Trash the Prefs in Pro Tools

Save

In this article you will learn how to trash your preferences in Pro Tools. This is commonly referred to by Pro Tools enthusiasts as "trashing the prefs." As great as Pro Tools is, once in a while it's going to crash. It happens to everybody. So, what do you do when this happens? The first thing will almost always be to trash the prefs. Get used to it. If you call Digidesign's (the company who publishes Pro Tools) tech support, they will undoubtedly ask you to trash the prefs when they troubleshoot any software problems you may have. By learning to do it yourself you can save some unnecessary tech support charges.

Things You'll Need

  • Pro Tools software
  • Pro Tools hardware
  • computer
  • Quit Pro Tools. Make sure Pro Tools is NOT running when you trash the prefs.

  • Open a new finder window. The shortcut for this is Command + N.

  • Click on the home icon.

  • Go to Library - Preferences. Here you will find the Digidesign prefs. You will track down and delete all of the possible culprits.

  • Locate the following files - DAE Prefs, DigiSetup OS X Prefs, and Pro Tools Prefs. Note, they will not necessarily be listed together in the folder.

  • Drag DAE Prefs, DigiSetup OS X Prefs, and Pro Tools Prefs to the trash

  • Empty the trashcan.

  • Restart Pro Tools. If your problem was simply a corrupt pref file, then Pro Tools should start right back up. That's it! You now know how to trash the prefs in Pro Tools!

Related Searches

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

  • Insinkerator Pro 333 Instructions

    The Badger Insinkerator 333 is an under-sink mounted home garbage disposal system. The Badger 333 has a cylinder-shaped body that attaches to...

Related Searches

Check It Out

12 Tiki Essentials to Turn Your Bar Cart Into a Tropical Paradise

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!