How to Block a Sender by Email Address in Hotmail

Block email addresses in Hotmail -- or Outlook.com -- by adding them to the Blocked Senders list. Email from blocked senders is deleted immediately. Hotmail doesn't notify the owner of the email address when you add it to the Blocked Senders list, and you can remove addresses from the list at any time. Furthermore, you can block entire domains if you notice that all, or most, of their email addresses are used for spam purposes.

Emails from blocked senders are not moved to the Junk folder.
Emails from blocked senders are not moved to the Junk folder. (Image courtesy of Microsoft)
Step 1:

Log in to Hotmail, click the gear-shaped icon and select Options from the menu to display the Outlook Options page.

The gear-shaped icon is located next to your name.
The gear-shaped icon is located next to your name. (Image courtesy of Microsoft)
Step 2:

Click the Safe and Blocked Senders link in the Preventing Junk Emails section and then click the Blocked Senders link to manage the Blocked Senders list.

Outlook.com Options page.
Outlook.com Options page. (Image courtesy of Microsoft)
Step 3:

Type the email address you want to block into the Blocked Email Address or Domain field and click the Add to List button to block it.

To add an entire domain to the Blocked Senders list, type only the domain -- @sampledomain.com, for example -- into the field and click Add to List. Note that by blocking an entire domain, you may block legitimate email addresses.

Email addresses are blocked immediately.
Email addresses are blocked immediately. (Image courtesy of Microsoft)
Step 4:

Remove email addresses or domains from the Blocked Senders list by selecting them and clicking the Remove From List button. To select several items, hold Ctrl and click each email or domain.

Hotmail
Hotmail (Image courtesy of Microsoft)
Related Searches

Tips & Warnings

  • The changes are applied immediately and the email addresses are blocked as soon as you add them to the Blocked Senders list.
  • Spammers are not notified when you block their email addresses. Blocked people can send you emails as usual, but Outlook deletes the emails before they reach your Inbox.
  • Email from blocked people is deleted immediately; make sure you don't block legitimate email addresses or domains that may contain legitimate addresses.

References

Featured

Related Ads

Related Searches
View Blog Post

Geek Vs Geek: Windows 10: Should You Want Microsoft’s Next Contentious OS?