How to Delete Tweets Permanently

Save

Tweets that you no longer want to appear on Twitter can be deleted manually using the Delete link. When you delete a tweet, it can take some time for all records of your tweet to be completely removed from Twitter. Although Twitter lets you manually delete tweets one at a time, it does not provide any tools to delete your tweets in bulk. Many third-party apps can connect to your Twitter account to facilitate deleting all of your unwanted tweets.

Manually Delete a Tweet

  • Log in to the Twitter website.

  • Click the "Me" button in the top navigation bar.

  • Scroll down your list of tweets, hover your mouse over the tweet you want to delete, click "Delete" and then click the "Delete" link.

  • Click the "Delete" button. The message "Your tweet has been deleted" will display above your profile.

Delete All of Your Tweets

  • Navigate to a third-party app's website that provides the capability to delete all of your tweets (see links in Resources section).

  • Click the "Sign In With Twitter" button. Enter your Twitter username and password into the "Username or Email" and "Password" fields and then click the "Authorize App" button. If you are already signed in to Twitter, you will only need to click the "Authorize App" button.

  • Follow the instructions to select multiple tweets or all of your tweets that you want to delete permanently from your Twitter profile. This process will vary depending on the app you've chosen. For example, you may need to click "Activate TweetDelete" or "Confirm" to proceed with deleting all of your tweets. It may take some time to delete all of your tweets depending on the service. You may need to repeat the process if you have more than 1,000 tweets.

Tips & Warnings

  • To download a copy of your Twitter archive, click the "Settings" drop-down button in Twitter, which resembles a gear icon, and then click "Settings" and "Request Your Archive." Twitter will send you a link to your archive via email after your archive has been made available.
  • You cannot recover a deleted tweet after it has been deleted. Before deleting your tweets, you may want to request your archive from Twitter.

References

  • Photo Credit Mary Turner/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!