How to Not Let Someone See Your Facebook Through Google

Save

You can modify your Facebook profile privacy settings so that only your friends can see your posts and your name won't appear in Facebook search results. It's also possible to block specific users from viewing your comments and shared content, even if you have friends in common. For even greater privacy, you may want to restrict Google and other search engines from linking to your timeline in search results.

  • Log in to your Facebook account. Click the gear icon near the top right of any page and select "Privacy Settings" to access the "Privacy Settings and Tools" options.

  • Scroll down to "Do You Want Other Search Engines to Link to Your Timeline?" and click the "Edit" link in the "Who Can Look Me Up?" section.

  • Clear the check box for the "Let Other Search Engines Link to Your Timeline" option, and then click "Confirm." Click "Close" and return to your Facebook home page or Timeline.

Tips & Warnings

  • You can edit your sharing settings in the "Who Can See My Stuff" section of the Privacy Settings and Tools.
  • If any of your posts are set to public or if you comment on Facebook Pages, open groups or the Facebook Community Forum, these posts could appear in search results.

References

  • Photo Credit Comstock/Comstock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!