How to Reset iPhone Settings and Contacts

Save

Your iPhone includes a world of features and applications that make it an exciting device. However, there are times when your device may crash, stop responding or stop working normally. Resetting your phone's settings and preferences is the simplest solution to the majority of these problems. Resetting your iPhone restores the device to the default factory settings without deleting the applications, songs and videos stored on your phone.

Things You'll Need

  • USB cable
  • Turn on your iPhone and tap the "Settings" icon on the main menu to launch the Settings panel.

  • Scroll down the panel and tap "General." Scroll down the "General" menu and tap "Reset." You should see a series of reset options.

  • Tap "Reset All Settings" and tap "Reset All Settings" again. Your iPhone will shut down and reset all the configurations back to the default settings. Your phone will automatically turn on when the resetting process completes. Move to the next step if you want to erase all the content on your iPhone and resync the information.

  • Tap "Erase All Content and Settings" on the "Reset" menu if you want to delete all content, including your saved contacts. Tap "Erase iPhone" to confirm and delete your saved iPhone content.

  • Connect your iPhone to the computer using the supplied USB cable and launch iTunes if it does not launch automatically. You should see your iPhone on the left panel under "Devices." Click it and resync information to your phone.

Tips & Warnings

  • Erase and resync information only if you are experiencing frequent problems that the basic resetting process cannot solve.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!