How to Delete the File Menu History in Quicken

Save

Quicken financial software logs all of your old data files, keeping records as far back as you like. But there may come a point where you do not need to hold onto old files, or you have them stored elsewhere and want to clear up space on the computer hard drive. Quicken has a straightforward operation to delete the files, though the product site warns that this process is permanent.

Things You'll Need

  • Quicken
  • Launch Quicken.

  • Select "File Operations" from the File menu. This will pull out a sub-menu with a variety of options.

  • Select "Delete" from the sub-menu. This will pull up a window allowing you to browse Quicken files on the computer.

  • Press "CTRL" and click each item that you want to delete. This will allow you delete only the files you want to target. If you want to delete all of them, press "CTRL" and "A" to highlight all.

  • Press OK. This will permanently delete the selected Quicken files.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you have redirected Quicken to save files to a different directory, you should use the "Search" tool in the File menu. This will allow you to browse the computer for all Quicken files. When you find where they are located, you can repeat steps 3 and 4 to browse for these files and delete them as well.
  • This operation is permanent.

References

  • Photo Credit dollar sign image by timur1970 from Fotolia.com
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!