Types of Burgundy Wine


Burgundy is a region of east central France famous for its wines, both red and white. Although good, economical Burgundies exist, the very best wines are scarce and expensive. The only grapes used in fine Burgundy are pinot noir and gamay (red), and chardonnay (white).


  • The northernmost section of Burgundy is Chablis. This area produces only white wines. They are crisp, acidic and dry. Chablis is fermented and aged in stainless steel tanks.

Cote d'Or

  • The Cote d'Or is the heart of Burgundy. It's divided into two sections, the Cote de Nuits and the Cote de Beaune. The finest red and white Burgundies, called premier cru and grand cru, are made here. They are often fermented and aged in oak barrels.

Cote Chalonnais

  • This area produces little-known, good value wines, both red and white. Mercurey and Rully are two important label names to know.


  • Maconnais primarily produces good, light white wines. The most famous name here is Pouilly-Fuisse.


  • Beaujolais is the southernmost part of Burgundy. Its fruity red wines are made from the gamay grape. Beaujolais Nouveau is released in the fall, immediately after harvest. Other Beaujolais styles are released the next spring.

Related Searches


  • Windows on the World: The Complete Wine Course; Kevin Zraly; 2006
  • Photo Credit Freedigitalphotos.net
Promoted By Zergnet



You May Also Like

  • Types of French Red Wine

    France is the home of all great wine except riesling. Its reds are some of the most fabulous and expensive in the...

Related Searches

Check It Out

13 Delicious Thanksgiving Sides That'll Make Turkey Insignificant

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!