Halal Foods List

eHow may earn compensation through affiliate links in this story. Learn more about our affiliate and product review process here.
Pork is not considered halal.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning permitted or lawful, the opposite of which is haram, or forbidden. When applied to food, halal means those foods that are considered permissible to eat under Islamic law. To compile a list of halal foods, you must list what is haram. Halal foods, therefore, are everything else. All foods listed as follows are not permitted under Islamic law.



Pork is forbidden to consume, according to the Qur'an, the sacred book of Islam. Any pork byproducts are also forbidden.

Video of the Day


Blood is not permitted, including all animal blood and foods made from blood byproducts.


Other Types of Animals

Other animals that are forbidden to be eaten include carnivorous animals (lion, fox, dog, cat, etc.), land animals without external ears (snake, lizard, etc.), birds of prey (falcon, eagle, hawk, etc.) and carrion, the carcasses of dead animals.


Animals Killed Improperly

It is unlawful to eat animals that were slaughtered not in the name of Allah. The name of Allah must be pronounced over the animal prior to the slaughter. The method of slaughter is important as well; animals must be killed under a set method of ritual slaughter.



Alcohol and all other intoxicants are prohibited.

Contaminated Foods

Foods that have been contaminated by any of the foods or drinks listed previously are forbidden to be eaten.



Report an Issue

screenshot of the current page

Screenshot loading...