A vegan diet excludes all forms of animal products. A Guide to Eating Vegan Foods (see Resource 1) provides a detailed guideline of what foods you can eat while on a vegan diet.
Meat: All meat, poultry and seafood is prohibited while on the vegan detox meal plan. Substitutes permitted include products made from bean curds, tofu, soybeans, grains or nuts.
Plant products: Fruits and vegetables make up the majority of a vegan detox. Try to choose organic produce. You can eat the fruits and vegetables whole or have fresh fruit juices.
Beans, nuts and legumes: All beans, nuts, and legumes are part of a vegan detox meal plan, including peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter or any other nut butter. Beans and legumes are crucial to a vegan diet to assure adequate protein intake.
Dairy and Eggs: Since veganism goes beyond being vegetarian, vegans cannot consume dairy products because it comes from animals. Soy and rice milk are good substitutes for milk and margarine is a common substitute for butter as it is made from soybean or sunflower oil.
Gelatin: Gelatin contains an ingredient that comes from a horse, and so should be avoided.
Sweeteners: Vegans differ on whether to avoid honey as it comes from bees, but others regard it as a "biological, animal-friendly product." Refined sugar, which is made using cow or horse bone marrow is not part of the vegan diet. Vegans can have raw brown sugar, from either sugar cane or sugar beet.
Drink at least eight glasses of water a day as part of your vegan detox meal plan.