How to Share Documents in Google Documents

Save
Next Video:
How to Publish in Google Documents....5

Sharing documents in Google documents is easy with these tips, get expert advice on business software and the internet in this free video.

Part of the Video Series: How to Use Google Documents
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Video Transcript

DREW NOAH: So, the next thing I'm going to talk about in Google Documents is how to share a document and it's over here on the right side, you can see the Share tab. And this is a really cool feature of Google Documents and since it's--all these documents are online, I can invite other people to edit them and then we will both see the changes in the documents and these people are known as "collaborators." So, if I entered an email of a friend right here, and you can see my contacts just pop-up straight from Gmail, I also have the option to Choose from contacts right here which will give--bring up another window and make it a little bit easier to just select everybody but I can just enter them right here and then I'll do Invite collaborators and you get a little popup, you can type a message if you want, and then you can choose to CC yourself if you want and you can also choose to paste the document and the email message if you want. What happens when you send this, it's going to send an email to that person and invite them to start editing the document. And as a collaborator, they will have all the same, this Edit function that we've been talking about so far; they can do everything that I showed you; they can do it to the document as well. So, you can basically have a collaborative effort and you can both work on a document. A viewer is a little bit different. They can't actually edit the document and if you go over here to the right, you can preview the document as a viewer and you can see the only option they have is View, then a File menu to do different things but then they can actually see the document but they can't do anything else besides preview and print it. So, I've got this other email open, the one I just invited and let's see what happens. You see, you get an email saying that you're invited to edit this document. So, if I click on the link--this person has never actually used Google Docs so they have to go through a little setup but here they go. And now, they can edit it and this is a completely different person. So, if they start editing, say they do that, and they save the document, if I comeback over here to my original document, you can see that it's been updated and as like--even though these two people are editing at the same time, it's getting updated. So, just some other options you have right here, some Advanced permissions. You can allow collaborators to invite other people or you could not. You could only--there will only be a collaborator and then they won't be able to invite other people. And then you have the option that Invitations may be used by anyone and that allows a mailing list. If you have an email that goes from a mailing list and you're using that, you would want to keep that checked. That's how you share a document and can invite collaborators to edit a document with you or just viewers to see the document.

Featured

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!