How to Back Up & Format a MacBook Pro

Save
Next Video:
How to Share Microsoft SkyDrive Files....5

Backing up and formatting a MacBook Pro is something that you can do with a USB hard drive. Back up and format a MacBook Pro with help from a technology strategist and cloud expert for small-to-medium businesses in this free video clip.

Part of the Video Series: High-Tech Topics
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Video Transcript

Hey, this is Charles Henson with Nashville Computer. In this video I'm going to show you how to backup your MacBook Pro and then, format it. The reason you might want to do this is, maybe you're giving the laptop away or maybe it's gotten corrupted. And you want to backup all your data on it and just reset it back to factory. So, the first you'd want to do is obtain an external USB hard drive. You'll simply place this onto a secure table and insert the USB cable into the side of the laptop. Once it's in, you'll want to click on the Time Machine button icon at the very top of the screen. If you've used My Passport and it has a password, it may prompt you to type in that password. Once you type in the password, you'll plug on unlock and then, click on the Time Machine window and choose Backup Now. Now while this is backing up, one of the things that you can do is click back on the Time Machine and choose Enter Time Machine. What this does is it will actually take you into the Time Machine window that allows you to see your historical backups that have taken place on this external hard drive. So that you know that your data is there. It's always a good thing to do and test even after you're done with this final backup. Once we're out of that window, we can choose Cancel, click on the Time Machine window and then, choose Open Time Machine. Here you'll see that it's backing up to the external drive, it's preparing the backup now. This backup may take anywhere from five minutes to two or three hours, depending on the last time you backed up and the amount of data that you have on your work station. Open up Finder and we want to eject the disk. Once we've ejected the disk, then we're free to remove this from the work station. You want to put this into a secure location because it has all of your files and private information on it. Once we're done with this, then what we'll need to do is we'll go ahead and shut down the MacBook Pro. And then, when we power it back on, we're going to be pressing the control R. And that's going to give us the boot options to restore our laptop back to factory reset.

Featured

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!