Is All the Data Erased When You Format a Flash Drive?

Save
Next Video:
Simple Steps to Burn a Disc....5

All the data is erased when you format a flash drive for a very specific reason. Find out why all the data is erased when you format a flash drive with help from an expert in information systems, programming languages, web development, and network security in this free video clip.

Part of the Video Series: Data Organization & Computer Skills
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Video Transcript

Hi, my name is Luke, and this is is all the data erased when you format a flash drive. The quick answer is yes. When you format a flash drive, you are preparing it to have files, folders and programs be written to it. However, this requires that the old format be deleted and in such it deletes everything previously on the flash drive. So make sure there's nothing left that you want to save before you format your flash drive. To do this, simply go to the start menu, computer and then look for the drive or volume that you want to format. If it doesn't appear, you can click the refresh icon at the top. To format the volume, hit right click, format and then choose the options that you want like the file system you want it formatted to, the size and then whether or not you want to use the quick format option.

Featured

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!