The Rules of Chess for Switching a Pawn Into a Queen

Save
Next Video:
How to Do the Queen Sacrifice Move in Chess....5

Switching a pawn into a queen in chess requires you to keep a few very important rules in mind. Learn about the rules of chess for switching a pawn into a queen with help from a chess expert in this free video clip.

Part of the Video Series: Chess Moves & Strategies
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Video Transcript

Hello, I'm Gene Nix with The Greenville Chess Club of Greenville, South Carolina, and today I will show you the rules of chess for switching a pawn into a queen. The great goal of most end games is simply to get one of our pawns to the end of the board where it can then be promoted to a queen and we call that queening the pawn. Here's an illustration. You move the pawn forward, you find a spare queen, you put it on the board voila, I have queened a pawn. Usually what will happen now at this point is white will now resign because his game has become hopeless or he might take a moment to chop the queen off and he is still left with a ruinous disastrous loss of material that he can't survive. By the way, we're not restricted to queening the pawn. If for some reason it served our purposes, we could under-promote the pawn and you know, get ourselves a knight or we could make it into a bishop or into any other piece. We can have more than one queen on the board. Hey, if this was our position can I have a second queen? Sure, I can I'm just going to have to find one my set might come with it or I might have to you know, decorate my rook in some way but the rules do permit us to have more than one queen on the board although by the time that happens, it's really time to resign and go get some lunch before the next game. Once again, I'm Gene Nix with The Greenville Chess Club of Greenville, South Carolina, and I have shown you the rules of chess for switching a pawn into a queen.

Featured

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!