Driving Light Laws in Michigan

Save

Driving light laws in Michigan are designed to ensure the safety of both the driver and the other cars on the road. Residents of Michigan should always know the laws that apply to keep themselves and others safe, and their vehicle street legal. Simply having lights on a vehicle is not sufficient in Michigan. All traffic light laws must be followed. Those who violate traffic light laws will be fined.

The Vehicle

  • Vehicles in Michigan can only be equipped with certain types of lights. Under the guidelines of the Michigan Vehicle Code, cars are prohibited from having any colored light on the front of their car other than amber or white. In regard to the rear of the car, the only colored lights allowed are either red or amber. Neon lights are not permitted on the exterior of the car. Neon lights may be installed in the interior, but not if they cause a distraction to other drivers on the road. Neon lights installed around the license plate may not be active on any highway or public road in Michigan.

Traffic Lights

  • Drivers in Michigan may not know the law when a traffic light turns yellow. Under the guidelines of the Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) Section 257.612, vehicles are required by law to stop at a yellow light unless making the stop will cause a safety hazard. If a vehicle cannot stop at a yellow light, it must navigate through the intersection at a cautious speed. In the event that a vehicle is attempting to make a left turn and gets caught in the intersection as the light turns red, the vehicle may complete the turn. Drivers may make right turns at a red light.

The Distance

  • All cars in Michigan must be equipped with two front lights as well as two taillights. These lights need to be visible from a specified distance. For example, the Michigan Vehicle Code states that all front high beams must be visible from at least 350 feet away. Low beams must be visible from at least 100 feet away. The taillight must be visible from at least 500 feet away. The brake lights on a vehicle in Michigan must be visible from at least 100 feet away. If smoked headlamp covers are used on any vehicle in Michigan, they may not reduce visibility below the required amount.

References

  • Photo Credit Andrew Bret Wallis/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

  • Trailer Towing Laws in Michigan

    In a public announcement made May 21, 2008, Michigan Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land said, "Michigan is a paradise for boaters...

Related Searches

Check It Out

How to Throw a Halloween Dinner Party

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!