A 10-passenger van is a vehicle that can be used to transport up to 10 people, including the driver. The vans are longer than a traditional commercial or privately owned van, but are smaller than most buses. Ten-passenger vans are frequently used by small schools, churches and shuttle companies. California has state requirements for passenger vans.
Any operator of a 10-passenger van is required to have a valid commercial driver's license with a passenger vehicle endorsement. If the driver will be transporting school-age children, then he has to have a school bus driver certificate. The driver is also required to undergo a medical exam at least once every two years, and must submit to pre-employment drug and alcohol testing, plus undergo such testing if there's a reasonable suspicion of usage.
Ten-passenger vans that are used to transport passengers on a for-hire basis are required to obtain and keep an operating license from the California Public Utilities Commission.
There are two types of permits issued; one is a passenger stage corporation certificate, or PSC. The other is a charter-party carrier permit.
A PSC provides transportation to the general public on an individual fare basis. Most PSCs operate a fixed route, scheduled service or an airport shuttle-type service. Charter-party carriers are used on a prearranged basis exclusively by an individual or group.
Daily pre-trip inspections are required, and a complete, documented safety and maintenance inspection is required to be conducted at least every 90 days for all commercial 10-passenger vans.
To reduce the chances of mechanical failure, commercial vans are expected to be retired by the time they're seven years of age or have reached 180,000 miles in service, whichever comes first.
All passengers, as well as the driver, are required to wear seat belts while the van is in operation.
Diesel-fueled 10-passenger vans that are used for commercial purposes and weight more than 10,000 pounds are subject to certain idling restrictions by the State of California's Air Resources Board. Such vehicles cannot idle in one location for more than five minutes at any location, or the driver can be subject to both criminal and civil penalties for pollution violations.
- Photo Credit van fano denmark image by david harding from Fotolia.com
What Are the Classes of Drivers Licenses?
When people learn to drive, they usually begin with the most basic class of driver's license: the Class C license. However, to...
When Do You Need a CDL to Drive Passengers?
Drivers operating vehicles with a gross vehicle weight greater than 26,000 lb. need a commercial driver's license (CDL). Federal guidelines mandate that...
DOT Regulations for 15 Passenger Vans
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHSTA) is a division of the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT). This government agency publishes safety...
How to Rent a 15 Passenger Van
A 15-passenger van comes in handy when traveling with a large group--whether you have a big family or are traveling with a...
How to Start a Passenger Transportation Company
As the average price of a gallon of gasoline steadily creeps higher each year, more and more motorists are seeking alternatives to...
How to Get a License to Drive a Bus
The pursuit of a career as a bus driver should give pause for thought. Taking on this task means assuming responsibility for...
How to Get a Class B Passenger Endorsement in California
To operate certain kinds of passenger vehicles in the state of California, you must obtain a Class B passenger endorsement from the...
Seat Belt Laws in North Carolina
In North Carolina, seat belt use is mandatory. There are civil financial penalties that ensue if you do not buckle up and...
What Types of Vehicles Need a CDL Licenses?
Drivers are required by federal law to obtain and keep on their persons a commercial driver's license (CDL) when operating commercial motor...