Massachusetts Learner's Permit Rules

Massachusetts Learner's Permit Rules thumbnail
Because of increased risks in teen driving, Massachusetts has enacted a learner's permit phase.

The state of Massachusetts has a graduated system when licensing young drivers. The learner's permit is the first step in this process, and upon meeting state-specified requirements, the driver may move onto a junior operators license and then onto an official Massachusetts state driver's license.

  1. What is a Massachusetts Learner's Permit?

    • A learner's permit in the state of Massachusetts is available to any driver over the age of 16 and one half years and under 18 years of age.

    Qualifications for Learner's Permit

    • Young drivers must hold the permit for at least 6 months and maintain a clean driving record for at least 6 months prior to taking the Massachusetts state driving examination or attempting to receive junior operating license status. The driver must attend and complete an approved driver's education course which will include classroom, in vehicle, behind the wheel and parent-attended lectures. The driver must complete 40 hours of parent-supervised driving.

    Learner's Permit Restrictions

    • Drivers holding a learner's permit must only drive when accompanied by a licensed Massachusetts driver over the age of 21 years old and who is located in the front seat next to the driver. Permit holders who are not yet 18 are not permitted to drive a vehicle between midnight and 5 a.m. Drivers may not operate the vehicle in another state as they may be in violation of that state's driving laws, and the holder of the permit must be in possession of the document when behind the wheel.

Related Searches

References

Resources

  • Photo Credit driving 4 image by Andrzej Borowicz from Fotolia.com

You May Also Like

Related Ads

View Mobile Site