What Are the Trophy Names for Major Sports?


Major U.S. professional sports leagues have awards that become as legendary as the players who win them. Nothing says hockey greatness like skating around with the Stanley Cup, or baseball pitching domination like the Cy Young Award. Sports trophies can be named for former players, coaches, league officials -- or, in some cases, for whoever donated the hardware itself.


  • The National Football League hands its Super Bowl champion the Vince Lombardi Trophy, named in honor of the legendary Green Bay Packers coach who led his team to victories in the first two editions of the game. Participants in the Big Game already have received trophies: The NFC champions earn the George Halas Trophy, named for the former Chicago Bears owner and one of the early pioneers of the game. The AFC champions get the Lamar Hunt Trophy, memorializing the principal founder of the American Football League that later merged with the NFL. One of the prestigious individual honors is the Walter Payton Man of the Year, which recognizes the star Chicago Bears player for his off-field work.


  • The Major League Baseball World Series winner receives the Commissioner’s Trophy. As the name suggests, it’s handed out by the current MLB commissioner. The National League pennant winner gets the Warren C. Giles Trophy, while the American League champion earns the William Harridge Trophy. Both are named after former league presidents. The Most Valuable Player earns the Kenesaw Mountain Landis Memorial Baseball Award, named after the first baseball commissioner. Baseball’s best pitcher in each league earns the Cy Young Award, while the Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor each league’s best hitter. Top fielders at each position in each league earn Golden Glove awards, and the best hitters at each spot earn Silver Sluggers.


  • National Basketball Association champions walk away with the Larry O’Brien Trophy, named after a former league commissioner. The MVP of the finals also gets the Bill Russell Trophy, named for the Boston Celtics Hall of Famer. The regular-season MVP, on the other hand, wins the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, honoring the first NBA president, while the top rookie wins the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy, named after the former NBA coach, general manager and owner. The Coach of the Year takes home the Red Auerbach Trophy, named for the legendary Boston Celtics coach and owner. In addition, the Sportsmanship Award is named after Joe Dumars, the former Detroit Pistons Hall of Famer.


  • Unlike other sports, many hockey trophies are named after the donor of the award. One of the most recognizable trophies in sports, the Stanley Cup, is awarded to the champion of the National Hockey League. It's named after Lord Stanley of Preston, who originally awarded the trophy to Canada's top amateur club while serving as the Governor General of Canada. The Hart Memorial Trophy given to the Most Valuable Player is named after Dr. David Hart, who donated the trophy. The Lady Byng Trophy, awarded to the player who exhibits the best sportsmanship, was given to the league by Marie Evelyn Moreton -- the wife of Viscount Julian Byng, another former Canadian Governor General. The Art Ross Trophy goes to the league’s top scorer, and comes from former hockey player, coach and general manager Art Ross. The Veznia Trophy is an exception -- given to the league’s top goaltender, it honors ex-Montreal goalie George Veznia, whose career ended suddenly when he died of tuberculosis in 1926.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Ilya S. Savenok/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Team Sports Award Ideas

    Playing a team sport can be rewarding in and of itself, but it's always even more rewarding to receive something for the...

  • Ideas for Coach Awards

    The highlight of the season for a sports team is often the end-of-the-season-awards ceremony when players are recognized for individual achievements, hard...

  • Types of Sports Awards

    Across all levels of all sports, professional and amateur athletes are recognized regularly for their contributions and performance. America’s four major professional...

  • Trophy Engraving Ideas

    Trophies are given for many different reasons. There is no right or wrong way to have them engraved, but there are guidelines...

  • Funny Awards for Kids Sports Teams

    Every season, kids’ sport team coaches dole out the same individual awards, such as Most Valuable Player, Most Improved or Best Team...

Related Searches

Check It Out

10 Delicious Game Day Eats That Rival the Game

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!