Three Requirements to Become a Navy Seal


The Navy's Sea, Air and Land (SEALs) forces are responsible for some of the most dangerous and important missions in the armed forces. SEALs are some of the most respected and reliable soldiers and spend their time in all forms of combat. The SEALs may participate in reconnaissance, rescues and investigations; and must undergo an intensive training and screening process to be eligible for the unit.

Basic Qualifications

  • Law requires that only men are eligible to join the Navy SEAL program. In addition, prospective SEALs must have completed basic training. Candidates must be a U.S. citizen under the age of 28. Specific eyesight testing scores are required including 20/70 worst eye; 20/40 best eye; correctable to 20/25; and no color blindness.

    Prospective SEALs must also meet the minimum score on the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery, or ASVAB, exam. To qualify, a prospective SEAL must have a total score above 165 on the General Science, Mechanical Comprehension and Electronics Information portions of the exam; or a total score above 220 on the Mathematics Knowledge, Mechanical Comprehension, Word Knowledge and Paragraph Comprehension portions. Individuals must also pass a physical exam that is required for divers.

Physical Fitness Testing

  • The Navy SEALs require that all prospective candidates pass the physical fitness screening test requirements. This test includes: swimming 500 yards in less than 12 minutes and 30 seconds, followed by a 10 minute rest; completing 42 push-ups in two minutes, then resting for two minutes; complete 50 sit-ups in two minutes followed by a two-minute rest; complete six pull-ups and rest for 10 minutes; then run 1.5 miles in less than 11 minutes and 30 seconds.

Training Programs

  • After passing physical fitness and basic qualifications, prospective SEALs must complete an extensive training process. SEALs begin with 12 months of initial training, which is then followed by 18 months of predeployment and intensive specialized training. The initial training consists of a SEAL prep course, Basic Underwater Demolition/Seal (BUD/S) Orientation, BUD/S Phase I, BUD/S Phase II, BUD/S Phase III, Parachute Jump School and SEAL Qualification Training (SQT).

    After completing the initial training, SEALs move on to the specialized training stages. These specializations include medical, officer, platoon and task unit programs. Upon completion, SEALs may move on to their initial deployment and combat operations.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit us navy granite image by jimcox40 from
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!