HVAC contractors install and repair heating systems, air conditioners and refrigeration systems. They either work for businesses or homeowners. Some HVAC contractors are specialized to do installation, maintenance or repair, although some will do all of the above. In order to become a HVAC contractor, one must receive on-the-job or postsecondary training, including licensing. Licensing requirements vary by state, but all require candidates to take a test in order to pass.
The Examining Board of Ohio will grant a license to HVAC contractors in electrical, plumbing, refrigeration and hydronics. In order to receive a license, candidates must pass the examination that the Examination Board offers. Once a candidate receives his license, he must maintain his license by taking continuing education units. They can use these continuing education units to renew their licenses annually. Candidates must also work as a licensed HVAC contractor in the state of Ohio.
Candidates must have at least four years of experience under the supervision of a licensed HVAC contractor. They may receive this experience through postsecondary training, on-the-job training or through apprentice programs. The examination will cover the fabrication and installation of warm air heating systems, cool air systems and complete ventilating systems. There is a $110 nonrefundable deposit in order to take the examination. Utah has no continuing education requirements at the time, according to the Contractor Licensing website.
The state of Texas offers licenses to HVAC contractors who install fire sprinkling systems, plumbing systems and electrical systems. In order to seek licensing, candidates must submit an application to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. There are two types of licenses: Class A and Class B licenses. The Class A license allows HVAC contractors to work on any HVAC equipment while the Class B allows HVAC contractors to work on cooling and heating systems. For either of these licenses, candidates must pass the examination. In order to apply for the licenses, candidates must have three years of work experience in the five years that they earned their degrees. Those who have a HVAC license in Georgia or South Carolina can receive a license in Texas. The application fee is $50, the license fee is $115, and candidates must renew it every year. The renewal fee is $65.
- Photo Credit Pompe Ã chaleur image by mattmatt73 from Fotolia.com
How to Become an HVAC Technician
An HVAC technician specializes in the installation, maintenance and repair of heating, refrigeration and cooling systems for both residential and industrial buildings....
How to Get an HVAC License in Texas
In Texas, getting licensed as an air conditioning and refrigeration contractor -- the official title for an HVAC contractor -- requires you...
How to Get Your Ohio HVAC License
HVAC is an acronym that stands for heating, ventilation, and air conditioning. It's a field that takes a great amount of learning...
How to Get a HVAC License in Illinois
Special licenses for HVAC contractors (heating, ventilating, and air conditioning) are not required by the state of Illinois, but local government may...
How to Obtain HVAC Certification in Nevada
Heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) technicians are in great demand already in many places in the United States, and the Bureau...
How to Become a Licensed HVAC Subcontractor
HVAC contractors are licensed to install and modify heating, ventilation and air-conditioning systems in residential and commercial buildings. HVAC contractors become subcontractors...
What Do You Need to Get Your HVAC License in Florida?
Anyone wishing to work as an HVAC contractor in the state of Florida must be licensed through the Florida Department of Business...
Utah Contractor License Requirements
Contractors, also known as construction managers, manage both commercial and residential construction projects. Although some contractors obtain knowledge and skills through years...