What Are the General Characteristics of Monerans?


Monera is one of the five biological kingdoms, the others being animals, plants, protists and fungi. All organisms that fall into the Moneran kingdom are considered prokaryotes, the most simple and earliest forms of life on the planet. Like all other kingdoms, members of the Monera kingdom have specific characteristics that define them. Bacteria are part of the Moneran kingdom.

No Nucleus

  • All members of the kingdom Monera have no nuclei in their cells. All genetic material in moneran cells floats loose in the cytoplasm. In fact, the only parts of the cell that exist in a moneran are the cell wall and the ribosomes. Moneran cell walls are made of peptidoglycan. This is the case for all monerans except for archaebacteria. Monerans also move about using flagella.


  • Monerans digest their food outside of the cell and then absorb the nutrients. Different monerans, however, digest their food in a variety of ways. Some simply generate their own food by making their organic compounds. Others need to feed off of other organic matter, such as decaying material. Some monerans are parasites that feed off of a host and others create a symbiotic relationship with another organism. According to Thinkquest.com, monerans are separated into different classifications by how they feed.

Other Characteristics

  • Monerans reproduce by both sexual conjugation or asexual binary fission. Circulation is done by diffusion, which is similar to the way they digest. Monerans all breathe differently. Some cannot survive without oxygen while some die if exposed to oxygen. Monerans come in three different shapes: spiral, rod-shaped or spherical. In order to protect themselves, most Monerans are surrounded by a capsule of polysaccharides that keeps them from drying out and acts as protection against other harmful cells.


  • Photo Credit bacteria image by chrisharvey from Fotolia.com
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Types of Monera Bacteria

    Monera is one of the five kingdoms, or super-groupings, that scientists use to classify living creatures. Specifically, the monera kingdom comprises all...

  • Animalia Kingdom Facts

    There are five major kingdoms of living things: the kingdom Monera, the kingdom Protista, the kingdom Fungi, the kingdom Plantae and the...

  • Differences Between Protista & Monera

    All life forms known to mankind belong to a so-called "kingdom," but it isn't always easy to know why a life form...

  • Similarities & Differences Between Fungi & Monera

    In biology, all organisms are divided into categories based on their similarities. This method of categorization is called a taxonomic system. In...

  • Important Facts About the Kingdom Monera

    Kingdom Monera is a broad group of organisms consisting of all of the prokaryotic (non-nucleated) organisms. Monerans are tiny, ubiquitous single-celled organisms...

  • Organisms in the Kingdom Monera

    Taxonomists classify all life on Earth in one of five kingdoms. Members of the the first four kingdoms, Animalia, Plantae, Fungi and...

  • General Characteristics of Protista

    Protists are a unique group of organisms that comprise a kingdom in the classification of living things. The other kingdoms are the...

Related Searches

Check It Out

Can You Take Advantage Of Student Loan Forgiveness?

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!