California Vehicle Code Section 23123 governs the use of wireless telephones while driving. The law went into effect on July 1, 2008. Drivers are required to utilize a hands-free device while driving and engaging in a conversation over a wireless telephone. Exemptions to this rule include calls to law enforcement and any call requesting emergency assistance. First-time violators must pay a $20 penalty. The penalty for subsequent violations is $50 per occurrence.
As early as October 2001, California lawmakers recognized the need to set guidelines for motorists who used cellular phones while driving. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) classifies such motorists as "distracted." On January 1, 2002, California enacted legislation to collect and report accidents and injuries where a cellular telephone or electronic device was present in the vehicle. In 2008, the use of hand-held devices was prohibited. Text messaging was later outlawed.
Hand-held Wireless Use Prohibited
Text Messaging Prohibited
California extended its mission of protecting the public from distracted drivers by enacting text-messaging guidelines. The rules set forth in Vehicle Code Section 23123.5 extend the Section 23123 hand-held wireless restrictions. Drivers are not permitted to engage in text-messaging activities while driving. This includes writing, reading or sending a text message. Those working in an emergency services capacity are exempt from this restriction if a job-related task requires such communication.
Prohibited For Minors
California Vehicle Code Section 23124 mandates that persons under the age of 18 are not permitted to use a wireless telephone. This restriction includes the use of hands-free devices. An officer can only cite a person for failure to comply with this traffic rule when he is stopped for another traffic-related infraction. This restriction does not apply if a minor needs to place a call to law enforcement or for emergency assistance. A first offense penalty for this infraction is $20. The penalty for subsequent violations of this code is $50 per occurrence.
School Bus and Transit Drivers
California Vehicle Code Section 23125 prohibits school bus and transit operators from using a wireless telephone while they are engaged in their driving duties. The restriction does not apply when the wireless telephone is being used while completing a work-related task. Other exemptions include the need to call law enforcement or emergency response services. School bus drivers and transit drivers hold commercial driver licenses. Conviction of a serious traffic violation can lead to a driver's license suspension or loss of commercial driving privileges. A violation of 23125 is not identified as a serious traffic violation.
- California DMV: Driver Distractions - Don't Be A Statistic
- California DMV Vehicle Code: 23123 Hand-held Wireless Telephone
- California DMV Vehicle Code: 23123.5 Electronic Wireless Communications Device
- California DMV Vehicle Code: 23124 Persons Under 18
- California DMV Vehicle Code: 23125 - Schoolbus or Transit Drivers
- Photo Credit The girl during driving the automobile image by YURY MARYUNIN from Fotolia.com
How to Read a California DMV Report
When you get involved in a motor incident in California, whether it's a car accident or a motor law violation, you will...
California Hands-Free Cell Phone Rules
California Hands-Free Cell Phone Rules. Cell phones provide a much-needed service. No longer are we tied to the house to catch a...
California Limit Line Law for Stop Signs
Driving laws are used to protect motorists as well as pedestrians and private property. While individual limit line laws for stop signs...
Cell Phones Rules & Regulations While Driving
Cell Phones Rules & Regulations While Driving. Cell phone usage has contributed to numerous traffic violations, accidents and deaths in the United...
California Teen Cell Phone Laws
Since 2007, California state law has restricted the use of hand-held cell phones for all drivers of motor vehicles. California Motor Vehicle...
How to Diagnose Car Faults
A car's dashboard features a few trouble indicators. There is the standard check engine light, as well as lights for ABS brakes,...
State of Florida School Bus Driver Regulations
State of Florida School Bus Driver Regulations. In the 2007-2008 school year, more than 2.6 million students attended Florida public schools, putting...
California Hands-Free Device Law
California has recently implemented a series of laws against using wireless communication devices while driving. Familiarize yourself with the requirements of these...
About California Driving Rules & Regulations
The state of California has established rules that determine who must have a California drivers license to drive in the state, as...
Laws on Driving With Cell Phones in California
Laws on Driving With Cell Phones in California. Forced to promote driver safety on state roadways, California passed legislation to curtail cell...
California Laws on Cell Phones in a Car
California Vehicle Code section 23123 regulates the use of cell phones in a car. cell phone image by Marek Kosmal from Fotolia.com
How to Duplicate Text From One Part of a Word Document to Another Part
When you open a new Microsoft Word document, you're greeted with an electronic replica of a blank, white page of paper. Whether...
How to Get Residential Phone Service in Fresno, California
In Fresno, you can get a residential phone over cable television lines or as a traditional land line, and it's very easy....
California Vehicle Code 40509.5 Case Law
In Caliifornia, Vehicle Code 40509.5 allows the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to suspend your driver's license after you miss a scheduled...
Laws About Driving While Talking on a Cell Phone
Keep your eyes on the road, maintain focus while driving and always keep your hands on the steering wheel. These are three...
How to Pair Bluetooth to a Hands-Free Car Phone
The use of Bluetooth hands-free car kits is rising, as states and cities continue to establish laws that prohibit holding a cell...
New York DMV Laws
New York DMV Laws. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in New York maintains all license plate numbers, insurance records, and driver's...
What Mistakes to Look for When Cited for Traffic Violations in California
Sometimes when California law enforcement officials issue traffic citations, they make errors. If you receive a ticket and choose to fight it...
How to View Your California DMV Driving Record
It is relatively easy to be able to view your California DMV Driving Record. Your driving record is a important personal record...
The Arizona Cell Phone Rules When Driving
The Arizona Cell Phone Rules When Driving. Laws concerning driving while on a cell phone have become a hot debate. While many...