If you have a suspended or revoked North Carolina driver's license, you may qualify for a hardship license. You can legally drive with this permit, but are limited in when and where you can. North Carolina courts approve limited driving permits, so you must petition the court in your county to be considered for one.
Losing Your License
Your license can be taken away in North Carolina for several reasons, including driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, causing another person's death with your vehicle and excessive speeding. If your license is suspended, your driving privileges are lost temporarily. If your license is revoked, your privileges are canceled altogether. To get them back, you must reapply for a license and meet all the requirements, which may include participating in a hearing.
Limited Driving Privileges
Limited driving permits are available to some North Carolina drivers with suspended or revoked licenses. If eligible, you will be allowed to drive for essential tasks, such as going to work, school or a doctor's office. Contact the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles at (919) 715-7000 to determine your eligibility for a limited permit.
You will need to submit a petition to your county for a limited driving permit. Contact the county courthouse to determine the proper form to use since this is determined by the reason you lost your driving privileges in the first place. The forms are available on the "Forms" page of the North Carolina Court System website. Personal information, such as your name and driver's license number is required, as is the date the license was suspended or revoked. The court may hold a hearing before making a decision.
Reinstating Full Driving Privileges
If you get the hardship license approved, it's still not official until you visit the local DMV office. You'll need to show them your personal identification, proof of insurance and pay a restoration fee. The fee is normally $50 as of 2015, but can double if your license was revoked because of a DWI. An additional $50 service fee is required if you didn't previously return your license to the DMV or court. Fees can also be paid by mail to NCDMV, DL Audit Unit, 3111 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-3111. Some states do require some drivers apply for a new license and take some state-required tests.
- North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles: Driver Improvement Clinics, Suspensions, & Revocations
- North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles: Suspensions and Revocations
- North Carolina General Assembly: General Statutes, § 20-179.3 - Limited driving privilege
- North Carolina Court System: Forms Report, July - December 2014
- North Carolina Department of Transportation: 2014 Driver Handbook
Requirements for a Hardship License in Texas
All over the United States, teenagers chomp at the bit, waiting for that magical day when they’re old enough to drive. Texas...
What Is a Hardship License?
Sometimes people make mistakes when they’re behind the wheel of a car. Many states are at least somewhat forgiving of this --...
How to Obtain a Plumber's License in North Carolina
The state of North Carolina requires a professional who performs work in plumbing to obtain a license in Class I or Class...
How to Get a Restricted License After a DUI Conviction
If your driver's license was suspended or revoked when you were convicted of driving under the influence, you may be eligible for...
How to Obtain a Hardship License in Indiana
Indiana drivers with a suspended license can apply for a specialized driver license, once called a hardship license, for limited driving privileges....
How to File for a Hardship License in Missouri
Missouri workers or residents may be able to retain some of their driving privileges if they have lost their license through a...
How to Get a Hardship Driver's License in Georgia
If your driver's license has been taken away in Georgia, you may be eligible for a limited driving permit, also known as...
How to Get a Hardship Driver's License in Mississippi
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Mississippi and lost your license, you may be eligible for a...
How to Find Out if My NC License is Suspended
Compared to many other states, North Carolina imposes harsh periods of license suspension for traffic offenses. The state has particularly strict penalties...
Requirements for Arkansas Hardship License
The state of Arkansas allows for a special type of driver's license called a hardship license. This license grants limited driving privileges...