What Happens When You Get an Open Container Violation?


Although enjoying a drink now and then is not against the law, traveling with an open container in the car is in most states. Generally, an open container is an alcoholic beverage, in a can, bottle or other receptacle, that has been opened or has a broken seal. Possessing an open container of alcohol in public is also prohibited in a majority of states.

Common Penalties

  • Although state laws differ, common penalties for violating open container laws range from fines to jail time. In California, not only drivers but also their passengers are prohibited from having open containers in the car. The punishment for a violation is a fine up to $250. However, if the violator is under 21 years of age, the violation is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. In Florida, drivers receive a moving-violation citation and a fine between $73 and $90; passengers receive a non-moving violation and a fine between $43 and $60. If the violator is under 21, he faces up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. This penalty increases for underage repeat offenders.

Open Container in Public

  • Possessing open containers in public also has consequences. In Ohio, for example, possessing an open container in public is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $150. In Washington, D.C., the punishment is a fine up to $500, up to 90 days in jail or both. In Virginia, violators face a fine up to $250.


  • Photo Credit Robert Byron/Hemera/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Read Article

10 Most Needed Jobs in the Future

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!