A person can acquire money, personal property and real estate throughout his life. These assets, collectively called the estate, will be passed to a decedent's friends and family after his death. In Mississippi, the beneficiaries of the estate can inherit by will, by marriage, by ownership or by law.
In Mississippi, a person, called the testator, can use a will to leave his estate to his beneficiaries. The requirements for a valid will are set forth in Trusts and Estates, Title 91 of the Mississippi Code. A testator must be at least 18 years old or an emancipated minor, as well as mentally competent. Section 91-5-1 requires that a will be in writing and the testator must sign his will in the presence of two impartial witnesses. If the basic requirements are met, a testator is free to bequeath his property to any beneficiary, including family, friends and charitable organizations.
Inheritance by Ownership
Certain property cannot be left as a bequest in the decedent's will. This property passes to beneficiaries based on ownership. For example, if the decedent owned a life insurance policy, the beneficiary named in the will receive the proceeds upon receipt of a death certificate. Additionally, if the decedent owned any property jointly with one or more people, those surviving owners automatically inherit the decedent's percentage of ownership in equal shares because joint property is owned with a right of survivorship.
When a person dies without a will, his estate passes according to Mississippi's intestacy laws. According to Section 91-1-7, a surviving spouse is entitled to inherit the decedent's entire estate if there are no children. If the decedent had children, the spouse and the children inherit equal shares of the estate. The children are entitled to inherit the entire estate if there is no surviving spouse. The decedent's parents are entitled to inherit when there is no spouse and no children. If the parents are already deceased, any siblings will inherit the estate in equal shares. If there is no immediate family, more distant relatives like aunts or uncles, cousins, and nieces or nephews can claim an inheritance.
In Mississippi, a spouse who is left out of a decedent's will, or who is unhappy with the small inheritance left to her in the will, is permitted to renounce the will. Under Section 91-5-25, a probate court will award the surviving spouse her intestate share of the decedent's estate.
Inheritance is the transfer of property, cash and other assets from a deceased person to relatives and colleagues. A responsible individual lays...
How to Cash in the Bonds of a Deceased Parent
Cashing in bonds is a simple matter of mailing in some paperwork, but they can only be cashed by heirs if the...
What Are the Laws of Inheritance?
Inheritance issues are governed by the statutory and case law of individual states, and each jurisdiction has its own rules. As the...
Mississippi State Inheritance Laws
A person often acquires a lot of assets over his lifetime. All of this property, collectively called an estate, must be divided...
Mississippi Property Deed Transfer Laws
A deed is the legal instrument required to transfer ownership in real property from the grantor, or "the seller," to the grantee,...
State of Mississippi Probate Laws
Mississippi probate usually takes four to 12 months to complete, but it can be avoided if the deceased owned all assets jointly.