California, like many states, requires all drivers on the road to be properly licensed and insured to the minimum standards set by law. To encourage drivers to be compliant with these requirements, the state has financial and, in some cases, criminal penalties for those who are caught without a valid driver's license, auto insurance or both.
California Vehicle Code 12500 VC
California prohibits people from driving a motor vehicle without a valid license, whether issued by California or any other state, in vehicle code 12500. Of the many prohibitions listed in the law, driving without a license is the only one with the possibility of a misdemeanor criminal charge. The penalty you face for violating this law depends on whether the court finds you guilty of a misdemeanor charge or the lesser infraction charge. Sometimes, the court will reduce a misdemeanor to an infraction depending on the circumstances.
A misdemeanor conviction for driving without a valid license in California can result in a fine between $300 and $1,000, three years' probation, a 30-day impound of your vehicle and a county jail sentence between five days and six months. A misdemeanor conviction is a crime and will remain on your criminal record afterward. If you are convicted of an infraction, typically you must pay a fine between $250 and $300.
Driving Without Insurance
Driving without valid auto insurance or other acceptable means of satisfying the state's financial responsibility laws is a different violation than driving without a license and comes with its own penalties. The size of the fine you must pay varies depending on certain circumstances, including whether you were in an accident, but it can be up to $1,200. Additionally, your vehicle registration and sometimes your license will be automatically suspended for six months to a year if you cannot provide within 45 days proof that you were insured on the day you were cited.
High-Risk Auto Insurance
You face long-term financial consequences for these types of convictions in the form of higher auto insurance premiums. Auto insurers check your driving record whenever you apply for new coverage, and your existing insurer will recheck it every year or two. When these convictions appear on your record, the insurer will likely consider you a high-risk driver and either refuse you coverage or charge you higher premiums as a result. This surcharge can last for several years.
- Car Insurance Comparison: What Happens if You Have no Car Insurance in California?
- Traffic Court Pros; What Happens If You Get Into An Accident Without Insurance in California?; Christopher Dort; July 2010
- Shouse Law Group: California Law on Driving Without a License, Vehicle Code 12500 (a) vc
- Car Insurance: How Much Is the Fine For Driving Without a Driver's License in California?
- Photo Credit NA/AbleStock.com/Getty Images
Is California a No-Fault Auto Insurance State?
Is California a No-Fault Auto Insurance State?. ... A driver who cannot show proof of insurance can have her license suspended. His...
What to Do When Caught Driving Without Insurance
... and if you are caught driving without insurance, you ... What Happens If You Get Caught in California With No License...
Misdemeanor vs. Felony DUI in California
If you are arrested for driving under the influence in California, you can be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony....
What Happens If You Drive With a Suspended License?
If a person is caught driving in California while under a suspended license, ... What Happens When You Get Pulled Over Without...
How to Handle a Suspended License Ticket
How to Handle a Suspended License Ticket. ... How do I Apply for a Restricted License in California After Suspension for Unpaid...
How to Calculate California Vehicle License Fees
Insurance. Insurance Basics; Auto Insurance; Life Insurance; Retirement. Get Started; Plan Ahead; Make It Last; Investing. Building Wealth; ... Multiply purchase price...
California Vehicle Code Restrictions on Window Tinting
California Vehicle Code section 26708.5 states that no driver can install or apply a transparent material on any car window if that...
What Happens If You Are Caught With a Gun With No License?
Gun License; What Happens If You Are Caught With a Gun With No License? X. ... but it can be even more...
California DMV Accident Reporting
In the event that you have been involved in an accident, ... Carrying a driver's license is both a privilege and a...