What Hemispheres Are the 7 Continents On?


The Earth is often divided into four hemispheres. The Northern and Southern hemispheres are divided by the equator and extend to the North Pole for the Northern Hemisphere and to the South Pole for the Southern Hemisphere. The Earth is also divided into Eastern and Western hemispheres divided at the prime meridian that runs from pole to pole through England, Western Europe and Western Africa. The half of the Earth west of this line is the Western Hemisphere and to the east of this line is the Eastern Hemisphere.


  • Both the equator and prime meridian cross the continent of Africa. This results in Africa stretching through the Northern and Southern hemispheres and the Eastern and Western hemispheres. Only Asia shares the same distinction of extending into all the hemispheres.


  • Antarctica covers the South Pole and lies entirely within the Southern Hemisphere. Antarctica extends through both the Eastern and Western hemispheres.


  • Like Africa, Asia crosses the dividing lines between the hemispheres, though most of the continent is within the Northern and Eastern hemispheres. Indonesia is not part of mainland Asia, but is included with the Asian continent and crosses the equator into the Southern Hemisphere. The vast lands of Russia extend eastward through the Eastern Hemisphere, crossing the 180th meridian into the Western Hemisphere.


  • Australia is completely within the Southern and Eastern hemispheres.


  • Europe is predominantly situated within the Eastern Hemisphere and entirely within the Northern Hemisphere. The prime meridan crosses the United Kingdom, France and Spain, allowing these nations to stretch into both the Eastern and Western hemispheres while Portugal and Ireland lie completely within the Western Hemisphere.

North America

  • North America, as the name suggests, lies completely within the Northern Hemisphere. Most of North America is within the Western Hemisphere, though portions of Alaska's Aleutian Islands stretch across the 180th meridian into the Eastern Hemisphere.

South America

  • The equator crosses through South America, putting it in both the Northern and Southern hemispheres, but it is entirely within the Western Hemisphere.


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

How to Build and Grow a Salad Garden On Your Balcony

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!