New Hampshire investigates unemployment claims on a case-by-case basis, which means that someone on staff talks to your past employer regarding your claim. The state has no hard and fast rule regarding granting unemployment to those fired from work; this is decided on a case-by-case basis, taking into consideration the reasons you were fired. You can definitely file for unemployment of you were fired, but there is no guarantee you'll receive benefits.
The state of New Hampshire Department of Employment Security suggests that those who have been fired from their jobs to apply for unemployment. Firing itself does not prevent you from collecting unemployment; what may prevent you from getting benefits is the reason you were fired. Since the state investigates each unemployment claim by talking to your employer, the only way you'll know whether you're eligible despite being fired is to apply.
In general, if you were fired for reasons that have nothing to do with job performance, you'll "usually" get unemployment from the state. However, if you were fired for reasons relating to work performance, you may not receive benefits. Whether you qualify depends on how serious your misconduct or other offense was.
If you were fired for misconduct, you'll have a tougher time qualifying in New Hampshire. Misconduct might include breach of privacy or secrecy, harassment -- sexual or otherwise -- of co-workers or doing something you had been warned by a manager not to do. If you were fired due to poor performance, lack of work, poor relationships with colleagues or errors on the job, you will probably qualify. These are not serious offenses.
New Hampshire suggests calling or stopping by your local Office of Employment Security if you have questions about your potential claim. Office staff can answer your questions about unemployment benefits and eligibility. Do not lie on your unemployment claim, even if you're afraid you might not receive benefits. Lying on the claim constitutes a misdemeanor if you receive less than $500 through your claim. If you receive more than $500, it counts as a felony.
If My Employer Goes Out of Business Can I File for Unemployment?
State unemployment insurance is designed to help people who find themselves without work through no fault of their own. In fact, many...
Rules for Collecting Unemployment in New Hampshire
New Hampshire Employment Security offers benefit payments to unemployed citizens, using the funds collected through the state's payroll tax program. To keep...
Can You Collect Unemployment If You Get Fired While on Disability?
According to census information compiled by the Bureau of Labor Statistics for 2009, there were approximately 27 million disabled U.S. residents, and...
Can You Receive Unemployment Benefits in One State & Live in Another?
Each state makes its own rules for paying unemployment benefits. If you live in one state and worked in another, you may...
Can You Claim Nebraska Unemployment If You Quit?
Unemployment insurance provides a temporary source of income to workers who lose their jobs so that they can support themselves while searching...