You must become a state resident to take advantage of state school tuition discounts. Every state has its own policies for determining who is a state resident. In California, your residency depends on how long you live in California, what ties you have to the state and local government and whether you are financially self-sufficient.
Physical Presence Requirement
You must be physically present in California for 366 days to become a state resident, except for brief absences such as vacations. You do not have to remain continuously in California, but you must establish a principal residence in the state and live in the state during the majority of the 366 days to qualify. If you leave for an extended period of time after establishing residency, you must prove that you still have a principal residence in the state and intend to continue to live there.
You must establish ties to the state of California; it is not enough to have a physical residence in the state. For example, you must work or go to school in California, get a California driver's license or state ID card, register to vote and/or register your car. Legal ties to the state of California demonstrate that you intend to make California your home, so you should make as many connections to California as you possibly can.
If you are not making enough money to be financially independent, you are considered a resident of whatever state your parents live in. Thus, you must work full time or have another full-time source of income to establish residency in California unless your parents are already California residents. Even if you establish ties to the community and live in California for a year, you cannot establish residency without being financially independent.
Becoming a California resident can help you save money on your education. California residents can attend classes at state schools for lower tuition and may be eligible for scholarships open only to state residents. In addition, you must be a California resident to take advantage of public assistance in California or to engage in certain procedures such as filing to change your name. In addition, if you are not a California resident you may have to file California tax returns as a nonresident or file taxes in another state.
How Long Does a Traffic Ticket Stay on Your Record?
Each state maintains separate rules for driving records, but expect a traffic ticket to stay on your record for at least three...
How to Establish In-State Residency in Arizona for College
In 2006, Arizona passed into law residency requirements for colleges. All public colleges in Arizona are required to verify citizenship, legal residency...
How to Establish In-State Residency in College
Getting a college education shouldn't make you go broke in the process. One way to do this is to attend state schools,...
How to Change Your Name After Marriage
Changing your last name after you get married is an old tradition that has been around for a long time. Whether the...
How Long Can You Collect Welfare in California?
With an unemployment rate of 12.4 percent as of Nov. 2010, California families’ need for public welfare benefits in 2010 increased after...
How Long Do You Have to Live in Tennessee to Pay In-State Tuition?
To qualify for lower in-state tuition rates at public universities in most states, you must be able to demonstrate that you were...
How Long Do You Have to Live in a State to Get In-State Tuition?
Paying in-state tuition instead of out-of-state tuition can save you thousands of dollars on your college education. Each state sets its own...