What Is a FHA 5/1 INT ARM?


Many moderate-income borrowers choose Federal Housing Administration mortgage loans because they don't require as much money upfront or during the early years of the loan. An FHA loan is insured by the government and protects the lender in case of default, allowing borrowers to qualify with a 3.5 percent down payment. FHA lenders sometimes offer adjustable-rate mortgages, which may have an interest-only period in which no principal is due. An FHA 5/1 interest-only ARM requires only interest payments for the first five years, resulting in lower monthly payments during this period but higher payments in later years.

ARMs Also Known as Hybrids

  • An FHA 5/1 ARM has two components: a fixed-rate period and the time frame between interest-rate adjustments after the first rate change. A 5/1 ARM's introductory rate increases after five years. The rate can then continue to change every year thereafter, thus, the "1" in 5/1.

Interest-Only Period May Vary

  • The lender must disclose the interest-only period's expiration before you get the loan because the payments will inevitably increase when it ends. The interest-only period may vary from one loan to the next. For example, the interest-only period on a 5/1 ARM might expire before five years, when the rate is set to change. It can also take five years or longer before you have to pay back the loan's principal.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit h-komm/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet



You May Also Like

  • How to Calculate a 5/1 ARM Loan

    A 5/1 adjustable-rate mortgage is also known as a hybrid ARM because it's subject to two kinds of rate changes. A 5/1...

  • How to Process FHA Loans

    FHA (Federal Housing Administration) loans are mortgages insured by the Federal Government. The government does not directly lend to borrowers, but rather...

Related Searches

Check It Out

4 Credit Myths That Are Absolutely False

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!