PIP Coverage Requirements

Save

As of September 2010, personal injury protection, or PIP auto insurance, is required in 16 states, according to the website Insure. The mandatory PIP requirement amount will vary by state, but most policies will minimally cover the policyholder's medical bills, unpaid wages and rehabilitation costs after a vehicular accident, regardless of fault.

The PIP States

  • In the U.S., the sixteen states that require PIP coverage include Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania and Utah. In addition, Maine drivers must purchase a minimum of $1,000 in medical payment coverage, which is an alternate form of PIP. In Maryland, a policyholder can refuse PIP, but must purchase coverage for all passengers in his vehicle.

States with Single Limits Per Accident

  • In Florida, Kentucky, Hawaii and Michigan, drivers must meet a minimum PIP coverage requirement of $10,000 per accident. Maryland drivers are responsible for a minimum of $2,500 per accident in PIP, while Utah requires $3,000, Massachusetts requires $8,000, and New Jersey $15,000 per accident. New York drivers are required to purchase the state's basic no-fault PIP policy, which includes $50,000 per accident. In Pennsylvania, the minimum per-accident PIP limit is $5,000, and is called medical benefit coverage.

States with Single Limits Per Person

  • In North Dakota, the PIP limit is 30,000 per person, while Oregonians must purchase $15,000, per person in PIP. Minnesota's PIP requirement is $40,000 per person, which breaks down to $20,000 in hospital and medical expenses, and $20,000 for lost wages and other non-medical related coverage.

Multiple and No-Limit States

  • Delaware requires a 15/30 PIP plan, which includes $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. In Kansas, the limit is $4,500 per person for medical bills, $2,000 for funeral and $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses, as well as $900 per month in lost wages for one year, and $25 per day in live-in help. While PIP is required in Arkansas, the state does not have a minimum limit amount. Instead, Arkansas insurance agencies can set the minimal amount or PIP and uninsured motorist protection, which must be purchased alongside the state's personal injury liability and property damage liability requirement.

References

  • Photo Credit Jupiterimages/BananaStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

  • What is PIP Auto Coverage?

    PIP insurance, or personal injury protection, is what you would purchase in so-called "no-fault states," of which there are currently twelve, plus...

  • PIP Insurance Definition

    Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is the part of auto insurance that covers the medical expenses for you and the passengers in your...

  • What States Require PIP Insurance?

    PIP insurance, or personal injury protection, is what you would purchase in so called "no fault" states. At this moment, the District...

  • Washington State PIP Insurance Law

    Washington's state laws regarding personal injury protection (PIP) on auto insurance may seem confusing. Although PIP is a no-fault medical coverage, meaning...

  • Subrogation of PIP Insurance in Texas

    Auto insurance is legally required by every state, although each state sets its own requirements in terms of the type of insurance...

  • Boat Insurance Limits in Arkansas

    According to the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission's Boating Laws and Responsibilities Handbook, boating insurance, boat registration and proof of personal property...

  • What to Do When Your PIP Coverage Runs Out?

    Standard personal injury protection, also known as PIP, often has a limit of $10,000 per accident, which can be exhausted quickly if...

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!