What Are the Four Types of Nursing Diagnosis Statements?


A nursing diagnosis is a standardized statement about the health of an individual, community or family. Based on the nursing diagnosis, a nurse selects a method of intervention to provide necessary care to patients. Nurses are responsible for choosing the correct diagnosis and are accountable for a patient’s outcome after receiving care. Nurses use several types of nursing diagnosis statements.


  • An actual nursing diagnosis is a clinical judgment about a current patient health problem, which is present at the time of the nursing assessment, verified by presence of the major defining symptoms, signs and characteristics, and would benefit from nursing care. Examples of an actual nursing diagnosis statement are anxiety characterized by fear, panic, apprehension and sleep disturbances, or an ineffective airway clearance characterized by an ineffective cough, abnormal breathing or a fever.


  • A risk nursing diagnosis is clinical judgment about a health problem which does not yet exist, but with respect to which the individual, family or community has risk factors. These risk factors lead to the conclusion that the patient is at a higher risk for developing the health problem in the near future than others. Examples of a risk nursing diagnosis statement are risk for injury related to disorientation and altered mobility and a risk for infection related to a compromised immune system or diabetes.


  • A wellness nursing diagnosis statement is a clinical judgment that an individual, family or community is able to transition to a level of higher wellness. Before giving a diagnosis of wellness, two factors must be present. An individual, family or community must possess effective present function or status and show a desire for increased wellness. Examples of a wellness nursing diagnosis statement are readiness for enhanced family coping or readiness for enhanced spiritual well-being.


  • A syndrome nursing diagnosis statement is a clinical judgment, which is associated with a cluster of predicted high-risk or actual nursing diagnosis, related to a certain situation or event. There are five types of syndrome diagnosis: post-trauma syndrome, rape trauma syndrome, relocation stress syndrome, impaired environmental interpretation syndrome and disuse syndrome. An example of a syndrome nursing diagnosis statement is rape trauma syndrome manifested by sleep pattern disturbance, anger and genitourinary discomfort and related to feeling anxious about possible resulting health problems.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Polka Dot/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Priority Nursing Diagnosis

    Nursing diagnoses are the second step in the nursing process, following assessment. After all the available data is evaluated, the nurse writes...

  • Wellness Nursing Diagnosis

    Wellness nursing diagnoses focus on the patient's progress or potential progress towards healthier behaviors rather than on a problem. They were created...

  • How to Write a Nursing Diagnosis

    A nursing diagnosis refers to standardized nursing language developed by the North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA) to allow registered nurses to...

  • How to Use Evaluation Methods for Nursing Interventions

    The nursing process involves 5 steps: assessment, diagnosis, planning, intervention/implementation and evaluation. The nursing process does not end with the evaluation but...

  • Types of Nursing Modalities

    Nursing modalities are ways care is organized and delivered to patients. They have to do with arranging staff members and assigning patients....

  • Types of Dual Diagnosis

    Types of dual diagnosis include chemical dependency and eating disorders. Learn how dual diagnosis disorders are often only treated for one-half of...

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!