CDL Regulations in Utah

  • Print this article
Drivers of large vehicles must obtain a CDL in Utah.
Drivers of large vehicles must obtain a CDL in Utah.

A combination of requirements set by the Federal Department of Transportation and the Utah Department of Public Safety dictate the requirements necessary to obtain a commercial driver's license in the Beehive State. Drivers may be required to obtain different classes of CDL depending upon the type of vehicle they drive and, in some circumstances, the materials they haul. CDL testing may be administered by the state's driver's license division or through a commercial third-party license examiner.

  1. When a CDL is Needed

    • Simply driving a vehicle in the line of work doesn't necessitate that a driver receives a Utah CDL. Drivers who operate a vehicle with a gross weight of 26,000 pounds or less or carries less than 16 people, including the driver, don't need a commercial driver's license to operate their vehicle. Those who transport hazardous materials, operate a trailered vehicle with a power unit heavier than 26,000 pounds or a trailer heavier than 10,000 pounds, or those who drive vehicles that carry more than 16 people must obtain a CDL.

    Utah CDL Requirements

    • Applicants for a CDL must have at least one year's experience with a standard driver's license, a valid Social Security card, proof of identity, proof of Utah residence address and a standard driver's license. Additionally, a medical examination card, required by the U.S. Department of Transportation, must be filled out by a licensed physician that certifies the applicant is physically capable of driving a commercial vehicle, including screening for sight, hearing, cardiovascular, neurological and other ailments that may impede driver performance. When a driver receives a CDL, he surrenders his standard driver's license to the state, using his CDL to drive personal vehicles as well.

    Violations

    • Commercial drivers must adhere to stricter regulation than other drivers, and may have their license suspended or revoked for additional violations. The state will revoke a CDL for at least a year if a driver is found operating a motor vehicle while maintaining blood alcohol levels above 0.04 percent, leaving a scene of an accident, using a motor vehicle in a felony or operating a commercial motor vehicle in a negligent fashion. If a driver performs other violations -- speeding more than 15 mph above the speed limit, reckless driving, following too closely, improper lane changes -- twice in a three-year period, he may have his license suspended for at least 60 days.

    Hours of Service Regulations

    • The U.S. Department of Transportation requires all commercially licensed drivers to limit the amount of driving they perform. Drivers may drive a maximum of 11 hours after a 10-hour rest period, or work 14 hours, both driving and not driving, after a 10-hour rest period. Drivers must also take a 34-hour rest period after working 60 hours in seven days or 70 hours in eight days. The U.S. Department of Transportation requires all commercial drivers to maintain log books recording their time of service, which may be inspected at weigh stations.

Related Searches

References

Resources

  • Photo Credit Thomas Northcut/Photodisc/Getty Images

Comments

You May Also Like

  • Utah Driving Laws

    Utah Driving Laws. Driving laws in Utah are similar to those of other states and are intended for the safe operation of...

  • How to Follow CDL Hours of Service Rules

    The CDL hours of service rules that were implemented for truckers in 2005 can be a little tricky to understand. You must...

  • Utah CDL Masking Laws

    Utah CDL Masking Laws. Masking laws are those regulations in which a CDL license holder's conviction can be reduced, dismissed, expunged or...

  • Truck Driving School Rules

    Truck driving schools have much more stringent requirements than regular driving schools. Truck image by JASON WINTER from Fotolia.com

  • CDL Schools in Utah

    Whether you're stuck in a career rut and looking for a fresh new career that pays well or a high school diploma...

  • Truck Driver Log Book Requirements

    Truck Driver Log Book Requirements. Because commercial truck drivers across state lines in delivering goods throughout the country, the U.S. government has...

  • Truck Driver Medical Card Requirements

    Truck Driver Medical Card Requirements. In order to obtain and keep a commercial driver's license (CDL) to drive a commercial motor vehicle,...

Related Ads

Featured
View Mobile Site