In order to protect both the landlord and the tenant, Oregon law lays out rules governing every aspect of renting. These laws start with signing the lease agreement, state what fees a landlord can charge a tenant and explain what responsibilities the tenant has to the property and his landlord.
The landlord can supply the tenant with a written or oral lease. In a written lease, the landlord must include the amount of rent, amount of any other fees, length of tenancy and any rules the landlord has for the property. For example, the landlord can include a smoking policy or pet policy. If the property sits in the 100-Year Flood Plain, an area in Oregon that faces periodic flooding, the landlord must notify the tenant. If the landlord does not notify the tenant and the property floods, the tenant can seek damages up to two-months rent from the landlord, according to the Oregon State Legislature.
The landlord cannot increase the security deposit during the first year. If the tenant signs a new lease with the landlord after the first year, the landlord can increase the security deposit. However, the Oregon State Legislature reports that landlord must give the tenant three months to pay the new deposit. The landlord cannot increase the rent during the lease term. The landlord can charge a late for unpaid rent. However, the tenant must pay after the fourth day of the month and the lease must state the late fee amount, according to the Oregon State Legislature.
The landlord must make any needed repairs to keep the rental property in a livable condition. This includes repairing weather stripping, plumbing, electrical systems and sewage systems. The landlord must keep property grounds in a clean condition. The landlord must give the tenant 24-hour notice before entering the property to inspect or repair, except in emergencies, according to the Oregon State Legislature. For larger properties, the landlord must give the tenants the opportunity to recycle. The Oregon State Legislature reports that landlords with five or more units must provide recycling bins.
The tenant must follow the lease agreement. For example, the tenant cannot keep pets at the property without an approval listed in the lease agreement. The tenant must keep his rental unit in a clean condition and must report needed repairs to the landlord. The tenant must keep an eye on his pets or guests. Any guests of the tenant must also follow the rules listed in the lease agreement.
The landlord can evict a tenant for breaking the terms of the lease. For example, the landlord can evict a tenant who does not pay the rent. The landlord can also evict a tenant who causes major damages to the property or if the tenant disrupts or threatens other tenants. Before starting an eviction, the landlord must give the tenant written notice. The Oregon State Bar reports that the landlord must give a tenant a 72-hour notice for failure to pay the rent and a 24-hour notice if the tenant has shown dangerous behavior. After the written notice period expires, the landlord can file for an eviction in court.